Skip to Main Content

Library Access for Nonprofits: Home

This guide is intended to help nonprofits access valuable library resources that may support the grant-writing efforts.

Welcome!

If you are a nonprofit organization in Western North Carolina, this guide is intended to help you access and find peer-reviewed articles and other scholarly research to support your organization.

In the tabs above, databases are divided into the following categories:

  • Open Search:  You do not need to be on campus to access this database for searching purposes.
  • On-Campus Search:  Access is available to App State affiliates on campus only.

Thanks

Rachel Caldwell and the University of Tennessee Libraries provided some of the content in this guide. The authors appreciate their permission to use the material!

Open Access

A great deal of scholarly publishing exists behind paywalls, making it inaccessible to a good deal of the public. Open Access (OA) is a movement to make scholarly research openly available.

If you know researchers, graduate students, or faculty members, talk to them about how their research can help you and your organization. Ask them to publish openly. If they have questions, librarians are available to help authors identify OA publishers and journals with good practices. 

Contact

Ashlea Green greenam7@appstate.edu

John Wiswell wiswellj@appstate.edu

Jackie Eagleson eaglesonjj@appstate.edu

Whitney Bevill bevillwl@appstate.edu

Databases

  • Foundation Directory Online
  • IssueLab - Open access repository, affiliated with Candid
  • Google Scholar:  If you have one or more relevant articles, type the title into Google Scholar, then look under the description for a link to "Cited By," which links to articles that cite the relevant article
  • Open Search:  NC DOCKS
  • On-Campus Search:  Academic Search Complete
  • Domains:  Use a domain search and limit to site.:gov
  • unPaywall: Plug-in for FireFox and Chrome:  a tool that finds a freely accessible version of articles

Research in Childhood & Education

Open Search:

On-Campus Search:

Research in Health

Open Search:

On-Campus Search:

Research in Poverty & Homelessness/Houselessness

Open Search:

On-Campus Search:

Research in Nonprofit Administration

Open Search:

  • NC DOCKS:  Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship

On-Campus Search:

Tips

Grants & Funding:  More information on grants and funding, including Pivot, selected websites, databases, and print resources in the library. For more information, click here. Also see SPIN, the world's largest database of sponsored funding opportunities.

Free Tech Resources:  Free resources that will help you create better presentations, videos and graphics. Resources include images, screen/video capture, audio/video editing, 3D design, data visualization, poster presentations, and authoring/annotation. Learn more here.

Diagnosing Search Problems from Harvard Library

Contact your public library to find out what resources they have, and take advantage of interlibrary loan.

Contact the author of an article directly. 

If you have children in college, especially four-year public institutions, they may have access to a wide array of full-text articles and their library may allow guest wireless access.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Whitney Bevill
she/her
Contact:
828-262-6246