Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Administration: Research Guide

This guide will provide access to key databases, resources, and tools for Public Administration.

Helpful Databases for Public Administration

"The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world."

"With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more."

Lots of eBooks on "Public Administration"

We have 312 eBooks with phrase "Public Administration", as of July 2013.

How to Vet a Journal

"Cabells is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size. Real impact starts with finding the right audience."

Scimago Journal & Country Rank

Scimago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) "is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide." 

Click HERE (link opens in a new window) for the SJR list of Public Administration journals

Snowballing for a Systematic Literature Review

Citation for defintion: Salleh, N. (2014, June 19). Introduction to Systematic Literature Review Method. Slideshare. https://www.slideshare.net/NorsaremahSalleh/introduction-to-systematic-literature-review-method.

Snowballing for a Systematic Literature Review 

(link opens in a new window)

Original source: Leary, R. and Kershaw, J., 2014. Tips For Conducting An Effective Literature Review. [online] Ifmlab.for.unb.ca. Available HERE (link opens in a new window)

Literature Review

How to Use Boolean Operators

Prince George Community College offers great tips on how to use boolean operators, in this infographic. The full LibGide can be found at this link (link opens in a new window).

MIT has some great info on truncation and wildcards: Truncation and Wildcards (link opens in a new window)

Matrix Tool

How to Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

You can preform a Google Scholar search directly from this LibGuide. Feel free to check out the Google Scholar Handout for additional information on making the most of a Google Scholar search. 

Additional Library Resources

This handout (link opens in a new window) provides information on additional library resources that will be useful in your research process.

Citation Guides

The University Writing Center has some great resources for following APA, Chicago, and other Documentation Guidelines.

Librarian

Dusty Ross's picture
Dusty Ross

Research Advisory Program

Research Advisory Program

The Research Advisory Program (RAP) provides one-on-one research assistance for students. Sessions are conducted in person, by phone, or online.