JSTOR is an online archive of fully-searchable, printable, and downloadable digitized back issues of scholarly journals in disciplines including arts and sciences, botany and ecology, general sciences and business. 

For fuller details see the What is JSTOR? tab at the top of the page.

The University Libraries proposes to withdraw the print volumes of journals duplicated in the JSTOR online journal archive unless the title meets one of the retention criteria listed in the box below. Like major academic libraries all over the country, we are moving towards withdrawing paper journals that have been duplicated in secure, online database. No content will be lost and only duplicates will be deselected.

For the process to successfully address faculty needs, it is important for faculty campus-wide to be engaged in the process.  We welcome input from faculty on particular titles they would like to see retained in paper.  To find out more about the process, click on the JSTOR, FAQ and Timeline tabs above.  The Print Duplicates List tab above provides a list of the JSTOR titles in the University Libraries collection with holdings information.

Criteria for determining whether to maintain an on-campus print archive of journal volumes archived electronically through JSTOR 

Bound volumes of journals may be retained if:

• The content and the use rely to a substantial degree on the quality of illustrative materials (photos, illustrations, musical notation, scripts, tables, graphs, etc.), and these images are not of sufficient quality in the electronic version.
• The journal is primarily used by browsing vs. retrieval at the article level.
• The print volumes are heavily used, as indicated through reshelving counts.
• The journal is of significant regional interest.

To provide feedback on specific titles, please go to the Comments form. 

Contact Alex McAllister, Coordinator of Collection Management, with overall questions or feedback about the JSTOR withdrawal process. mcallisterad@appstate.edu