Research Guides: HIS 5207 Contemporary U.S. and N.C. Political History: Home

What's in this guide?

This guide contains resources that you can use to help you find:

Government information
News articles
Scholarly publications
Biographical information
Other manuscript collections

Find government information

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Search legislation, congressional record, committees and members.
GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.

WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
Offers access to government sources, newspapers, and state & local info.
Offers access to statutes, cases, and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
**For a limited time only**
Access is not guaranteed.
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics.

Find news articles

Newspapers.com World Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 20,000 historical newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and 6 other countries, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s.
Provides online access to over 20,000 historical newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and 6 other countries, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers. 1764-2005
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.

Find scholarly sources

Consult the complete list of Databases by Subject to determine which other databases are related to your research.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).

Advanced search

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles, conference papers, preprints, theses, books, and technical reports.

Find biographical information

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Since 1859, the Biographical Directory of the United States Congress has been the primary source for biographical information on Members of the United States Congress and Continental Congresses
Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:
-Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
-Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.

Finding other manuscript collections

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Search for a congress member to locate any Research Collections.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world.
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world.

Presidential Libraries overseen by the Office of Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries are archives and museums, bringing together the documents and artifacts of a President and his administration and presenting them to the public for study and discussion without regard for political considerations or affiliations.
SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context)
SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context) is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.

University Libraries Research Guides

HIS 5207 Contemporary U.S. and N.C. Political History: Home

Librarian

Useful Links

Using the Special Collections Resource Center

Citations of Bills and Laws

Bill citations:

Abbreviations

Public Law citations: