It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Internet Resources: Home
The internet is a great way to create, access and share information. The problem with this is anyone can create and share content on the internet. If you plan on using information found on a website or social media, you must evaluate that resource. This is particularly true if you plan to cite this information in a paper or if you plan on passing this information along to others.
investigate the information and the source of the information before reading or sharing.
Investigate the Source
What do you know or what can you find out about the source of this information?
Do a google search for the author or institution that is creating this media.
Find better coverage
Can you find a credible source that is reporting this information?
How do the two sources compare?
Trace claims, quotes, and media back to the original context
Locate the original source of this information.
Are the claims, quotes and media being represented accurately?
Points of View
Do you understand all sides of an argument? There are several databases that provide overviews of controversial or debatable topics.
This database provides an unbiased overview of topics and opposing arguments.
Points of View Reference Center is designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point(argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
SIRS Knowledge Source provides an overview of current issues and links to articles discussing the differing viewpoints.
SIRS Knowledge Source is a portal to articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework. Knowledge Source consists of the following collections: SIRS Issues Researcher—Covering the pros and cons, Leading Issues most studied and debated by students SIRS Government Reporter—Historic and Government Documents, Directories and Almanacs SIRS Renaissance—Current perspectives on the arts and humanities SIRS WebSelect—Collection of editorially-selected reliable and credible educational websites covering all curriculum topics
CQ Researcher provides articles about current issues including an overview, history, and discussion of the pros and cons.
Each report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles, plus a pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts, round out each report. There are 44 reports done each year and four expanded reports.
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in-depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Some recent topics include: Biotech Foods; Energy Policy; Kids in Prisons; Middle East Conflict; Testing in Schools.
Investigate the Source
What do you know/ what can you find out about the author or publisher?
What are the author's credentials?
Is the author qualified to write about this topic?
What can you find out about this publisher?
Can you find this media outlet's Code of Ethics?
What is the url? (.com, .edu, .gov, .org, etc.)
Is this source known to be bias or lean in a particular direction?
Why was this resource created?
Is it opinion, satire, news, advertisement?
Was this created to entertain, educate, convince?
Who is the intended audience?
Do you or the publisher hold bias on the subject?
Is this source known to hold strong beliefs on any particular subjects?
Could your own beliefs impact your evaluation of this source?
The following websites can help you investigate a particular news outlet.
The web gives us many such strategies and tactics and tools, which, properly used, can get students closer to the truth of a statement or image within seconds. For some reason we have decided not to teach students these specific techniques. As many people have noted, the web is both the largest propaganda machine ever created and the most amazing fact-checking tool ever invented. But if we haven't taught our students those capabilities is it any surprise that propaganda is winning? This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly.
While popularized by President Donald Trump, the term "fake news" actually originated toward the end of the 19th century, in an era of rampant yellow journalism. Since then, it has come to encompass a broad universe of news stories and marketing strategies ranging from outright lies, propaganda, and conspiracy theories to hoaxes, opinion pieces, and satire-all facilitated and manipulated by social media platforms. This title explores journalistic and fact-checking standards, Constitutional protections, and real-world case studies, helping readers identify the mechanics, perpetrators, motives, and psychology of fake news. A final chapter explores methods for assessing and avoiding the spread of fake news.