Research Guides: ENG 3100 Business Writing: Home

Useful Links

Project #1 Job Market Materials

Research the Occupation

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Specifics on various jobs and careers, including working conditions, educational or training requirements, pay, and future outlook.

Specifics on various jobs and careers, including working conditions, educational or training requirements, pay, and future outlook.

Labor Market Insights
Explore occupations by career categories and pathways and use real time labor market data to power your decision making.

Keep up to date in the industry to stay competitive and knowledgeable.

Newspapers and Trade Publications

New York Times (Nexis Uni)
Covers the New York Times Late Edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).

Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).
Wall Street Journal
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news (1984-present).

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

Forbes Magazine
Forbes publishes articles about business, finance, economics, and investing.
Economist
British news and current affairs journal that publishes on economics, business, technology, and culture.
Harvard Business Review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.

Search for a publication.

Journal Search

Project 2: Social Media Audit

What information can you find about your business? Their intended audience/customers? Their social media strategies? Trends in that industry?

GlobalData Explorer
Combines macroeconomic data and information on more than 750,000 companies and 22 industries; provides detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries and impacting companies.

Formerly Marketline Advantage; now with expanded data.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions
Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.

Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.

Guidestar.org
Are you researching a non-profit business? Check out Guidestar.

Statista
A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 60,000 topics from 18,000 sources.

A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 60,000 topics from 18,000 sources.

Social Searcher

Project #3: Business Ethics Report

Search your topics in the following databases. Also consult the complete list of Databases by Subject to determine which other databases are related to your research. Many research topics fall within multiple subjects.

Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Business Source Complete
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.

Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
ABI/Inform Collection
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.

ENG 3100 Business Writing: Home

Librarian

URL

What I learned...