Research Guides: Music Education Guide: Home

Basic Reference Tools

BASIC REFERENCE TOOLS

REFERENCE

Arneson, Arne J. The Music Educators Journal: Cumulative Index 1914-1987. Ref. ML 1 .M234 Suppl.
Bartle, Barton K. Computer Software in Music and Music Education: A Guide. Ref. ML 128 .C62 B36
Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. (R. Colwell, ed.) Ref. MT 1 .H138 1992
Harris, Ernest E. Music Education: A Guide to Information Sources. Ref. ML 19 .H37
Rossman, R. Louis. The Business of Administration and Supervision in Music: A Selected Annotated Bibliography. Ref. MT 3 .U5 R68 1989
The School Music Program: Description and Standards. 2nd ed. (MENC) Ref. MT 3 .U5 M93 1986

TESTING

Boyle, J. D., and R. E. Radocy. Measurement and Evaluation of Musical Experiences. Stacks ML 3838 .B697 1987
Lehman, Paul R. Tests and Measurements in Music. Stacks ML 3838.L43
Wing, Herbert. Tests of Musical Ability and Appreciation, 2nd ed. Ref. ML 3830 .W55 1968

RESEARCH

Phelps, Roger P., et. al. A Guide to Research in Music Education, 4th ed. Stacks MT 1 .P5 1986
Rainbow, E. L., and H. C. Froehlich. Research in Music Education: An Introduction to Systematic Inquiry. Stacks MT 1 .R26 1987

Browsing the Music Library's Collection

Because printed music and books are classified--i.e., grouped with similar items on the shelves--browsing can be an effective method for finding material. Look on the shelves under the following numbers.

73.9-73.99 = Songs for children; school music
ML 3830-ML 3838 = Psychology of music
MT 1-MT 3 = General music education
MT 898-MT 949 = Techniques for working with children

Finding Printed Music and Recordings of Particular Compositions

FINDING INFORMATION about music education.

Books

Do a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog (http://wncln.wncln.org/) using phrase "Music Instruction and study". Other useful phrases for SUBJECT searches:

Kindergarten Music
Music therapy
Music in education
Music teachers
Musical ability
Music Psychology
School music supervision

Journals and Web Sites

JOURNALS (most are indexed in Music Index or ERIC)

American Music Teacher
Council for Research in Music Education. Bulletin
Electronic Music Educator
Journal of Research in Music Education
Music Educators Journal
The Quarterly: Journal of Music Teaching and Learning

INTERNET SOURCES

Online Tools for Research

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory, and cultures of music around the globe.
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history, theory, and cultures of music around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day.
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes all formats of scholarly works on music and related fields--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings.
Includes all formats of scholarly works on music and related fields--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 850 music periodicals from more than 40 countries covering all styles and genres of music.
Indexes more than 850 music periodicals from more than 40 countries covering all styles and genres of music.
Classical Music Library (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Distinguished classical recordings (approximately 100,000 albums) that users can listen to online.
Distinguished classical recordings (approximately 100,000 albums) that users can listen to online.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of classical music, contemporary jazz, world, folk, adult contemporary, Chinese, pop, and rock music.
Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Electronic Journals

Music Education Guide: Home

Subject Guide