Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hughlene Bostian Frank Visiting Writers Series: Scott Blackburn

Scott Blackburn

 

 

Picture of Scott Blackburn

Scott Blackburn is an English instructor and a 2017 graduate of the Mountainview MFA program of Southern New Hampshire University. He lives in High Point, North Carolina, with his wife and two children. When he is not writing and teaching, Scott enjoys training in combat sports such as boxing, Muay Thai, and Ju-jitsu, in which he holds a black belt. His debut novel, It Dies With You, was published in June 2022 by the Crooked Lane Books imprint of Penguin Random House .

IT DIES WITH YOU
After his estranged father is murdered in an apparent robbery-gone-bad, prizefighter Hudson Miller unexpectedly inherits his father’s business, a salvage yard called Miller's Pull-a-part. With his boxing career put on hold by a suspension, Hudson is desperate for money. He returns to his hometown of Flint Creek, North Carolina to run the yard, only to discover that the family business is far more than junk cars and scrap metal; it harbors a deadly, dark secret that will thrust Hudson into the fight of his life.


It Dies With You is a timely story about the long shadows cast by sins of the past. 

This is a great novel about bad decisions and second chances. Scott Blackburn has a burner of a book on his hands. He's a crime writer whose name you need to remember, and if you read It Dies With You I can guarantee you won't forget it. Fans of Michael Farris Smith, David Joy, Daniel Woodrell, and Chris Offutt, this is the new writer you've been waiting for.
--Wiley Cash, NY Times bestselling author of A Land More Kind than Home and When Ghosts Come Home


https://www.scottblackburnwords.com

 

Author Talk

FREE and open to the public

DATE
Thursday, November 10

SCHEDULE
Craft Talk: 2-3:15pm
Reading: 6-7:15pm
Book sales will follow each event.

LOCATION
Plemmons Student Union 201B, 169 Three Top Mountain Room

FOR MORE INFORMATION
Susan Weinberg at weinbergsc@appstate.edu

Library Holdings

Librarian

Profile Photo
Breanne Crumpton
She/her/hers