It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
THR 2020: Research Guide
Designed to help with your research project. All links on this guide open in a new window.
Links for Class (3/26)
Freewriting Activity (beginning of class)
Google Folder - find your group folder and open the Google Doc with your name on it. Mark will give instructions.
Research Time (after presentation)
Research Log - open the research log and find your group section. Mark will give instructions.
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
Alexander Street Press is a publisher of online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning.
Collections include American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, and Music Online (classical, jazz, opera, popular music, world music). Provides access to over 480,000 music albums (nearly 6 million tracks) and more than 10,500 videos.
Subject covered include business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, and popular music performances. The videos include Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Features include: Captioning and cross-searchable interactive transcripts on all titles; iPad, PC, Mac, and Android friendly; Public performance rights; Citations in MLA, CMS, and APA formats; ability to embed persistent and authenticated video clips into course management systems such as Blackboard and Moodle; an Create and share personalized playlists using segments from multiple videos.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law. Coverage: 1955-present
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications (and selected coverage for nearly 300 publications), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites.
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
LGBT provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, etc.
LGBT Life with Full Text is the definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international journal, with 160 titles available in full text.
International Index to Performing Arts covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Sociological Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Covers all aspects of sociology, including community development, culture and social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.
You Got the Assignment, Now What?
You've Been Assigned a Research Project, What Next?Assignment Guidelines
6-8 minute Presentation
Each group will find scholarly texts and resources to support your thesis.
If your group has two people, that means that group will use at least four scholarly sources to support the thesis and presentation.
If your group has three people, that means that group will use at least six scholarly sources to support the thesis and presentation.
The assignment includes annotated bibliography and presentation.
Annotated Bibliography Worksheet Guideline Citation in MLA format. Annotated bibliography How does the book/article help you address the research topic?
Presentation Guidelines You will aim at drawing an analogy between the past view and the present conceptualization. Please use visual materials such as a short clip from YouTube, images, pictures, etc in your PowerPoint to introduce your research topic. The objective of juxtaposing at least two different trajectories (examples) is to explore different cultural perspectives. Your goal is to demonstrate that the sole difference between the past and the present lies chiefly in the analytical means and not in the content.