Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections Research Center under COVID-19: Home

A guide to resources and services available from the Special Collections Research Center while we are closed to the public due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

COVID-19 Statement and the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center staff is mostly working remotely while in North Carolina's Phase 3. We are continuing to support the research and instructional needs of Appalachian State University's students, faculty, and staff as much as possible with limited access to our physical collections. Priority assistance will be given to current Appalachian State University students, faculty, and staff, and there may be delays in reply time for non-App State affiliated researchers. See the University Libraries' homepage for more information about current services and the App State Online Library Services Guide.

This information is current as of 10/2/2020.

Access to Collections and Status of Services

Access to Physical Collections:  There are two options for App State-affiliated researchers. External researchers will not have access to Belk Library and Information Commons, and therefore should contact us for assistance at spcoll@appstate.edu.

1) On-site visits by appointment. 

Below are hours through December 4 (except University holidays) for App State students, faculty, and staff.

Circulating Collection (Appalachian Collection, Stock Car Collection)Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays: 9 am-12 pm, 2 pm-6 pm

Archives, Manuscripts & Rare Books: Thursdays, 10 am - 1 pm

To schedule an appointment, please email choose an appointment time through this form: https://appstate.libcal.com/appointments/SpecColl Appointments are available for one researcher at-a-time in 50-minute time slots.  A mask must be worn for the duration of the appointment.

2) Remotely Request Materials. 

For individuals who cannot or choose not to schedule an appointment for circulating material, you can request your item(s) using the library's "Add to Bag" feature. Your requested item(s) will be retrieved and checked out to you and left on hold at the library's main circulation desk on the first floor or mailed to your home address.  See this page for instructions about how to obtain materials.

 

Access to Digital Collections:  See this page for links to digitized items from Special Collections and alternatives for accessing historical material online.

Research Services:  Please email us at spcoll@appstate.edu for assistance with research questions. We will do our best to help you with your requests while working with limited access to our physical collections. Priority assistance will be given to current Appalachian State University students, faculty, and staff. 

Instructional Services:  Faculty who would like their students to learn about materials from the Special Collections Research Center while teaching remotely should email Greta Browning at browningge@appstate.edu. We will work with you to be creative about how to use our collections remotely!

This information is current as of 10/16/2020.

 

Follow Us

Twitter @AppStateSCRC

Find out about our collections about the Appalachian Region, University history, stock car racing, British history, children's literature and so much more! Part of @Belklibrary at @AppState.

Special Collections Blog

Read about our collections, exhibits, events in more detail.

Reference Archivist / Librarian

Greta Browning's picture
Greta Browning
Contact:
828.262.7702

Office: Belk Library 433

browningge@appstate.edu
Website