Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Research Strategies and More: Find dissertations

A guide for conducting library research.

Dissertations

As you are researching topics you will discover a variety of literature, including articles, books, dissertations, conference reports, government documents, and more. 

If your goal is to limit your search to the dissertation literature, see the options below. 
Note:  There is not a single resource in which all dissertations are indexed and freely available.
 

ASU and other UNC school dissertations:

~  From ~ 2010 - present, search NC Docks

To find ASU dissertations:  Limit to ASU, Limit to Type, and Doctoral Dissertations.


 

Proquest's Dissertation and Thesis Open (PQDT Open) database provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses -- free of charge. 

~  Search by topic or see the other search options
~  Open Access full-text dissertations display in the search results
 


 

ERIC database -  There is a option to Limit by Publication Type and the search results will then display only dissertations.

~  Enter your topic search
~  Select Dissertations/Theses - Doctoral Dissertations OR one of the other choices from the Pub Type listing.
~  Consider if you want to also select Full Text. If you do not need full text immediately, you can use ILLiad to request a dissertation via interlibrary loan.
~  The results page provides citations & abstracts.  Those available full text will have links, Full Text from ERIC.
 



WorldCat - contains worldwide library records, can Limit by Publication Type and Internet Resources

~  Search for:  Enter a topic search
Limit type to:   Internet Resources
Subtype limits:   Any Content  >>  select Thesis/dissertation from the drop down menu
~  The results page will provide dissertation citations & abstracts.  Some of the Access links will be to full-text dissertations, abstracts only, or commercial pay sites
 

 

Purchasing a dissertation is an option via ProQuest Order a Dissertation