Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant: Students new to Belk Library -- Services

Introduction to the Library and Library Services

This is just a general overview of the Library, relevant for any new student and maybe even new faculty.  Nothing uniquely interesting to PA students, but some facts you might want to know.. 

Top 10 Things That Transfer Students Might Want to Know

photo of atrium of Belk Library   Welcome to the Belk Library.

1. How do you log in for Library resources and account information?

To access electronic resources from off campus, you'll be given a log-in page.  Enter your AppalNet user name and password.

To look at your Library record, use "My Account," on the left side of library.appstate.edu.

2. When is the Library open?

The Library's website and electronic resources are always available.  (You can chat or report problems at any time.)

Click on "Hours & Room Schedules," in middle right of library.appstate.edu.

During the Fall and Spring Semesters, the Library is open 24/5, that is, we only close Friday night and Saturday night.

3. Can I get help?

Library staff are ready to help you.  If you're off campus, consider using the chat box on many of our webpages.  If you're in the building, ask at our service desks or stop one of our student-workers.  Ways to ask.  If you tend to use our building in the evenings and weekends, be sure to get to know our great staff who work those hours.

And contact Wiswell, wiswellj@appstate.edu , especially for health sciences questions and problems.

4. Do you have good places to study or work with my group?

The Library has a lot of good spots.  The 3rd Floor is our QUIET STUDY floor and it really is quiet most of the time.

The Library has lots of group study rooms.  You can reserve a room for up to 4 hours.  Click on "Book a Study Room."

Food and drink are allowed, except on the 4th Floor.  Drinks must have a top on them.  Also, please take it easy on our housekeeping staff.

5. Do you have tech help and tech devices?

We have great tech staff to help you with tech questions, small and large.  This means anything from saving your lost file to helping you on your multimedia project.

Check out the Tech Desk (gizmos!) and the Digital Media Studio, on the Lower Level.  And we have the new Inspire Lab makerspace.

6. What's so special about the Library?

The Belk Library is like a lot of academic libraries.  We have lots of people trying to figure out what you need.  We have lots of spaces, services, computers, books, and electronic resources.

We also have what we call Special Collections.  The Music Library is across campus at the School of Music.  The IMC serves the College of Education and is on the Lower Level.  Perhaps most special, the Appalachian Collection, Rare Books, Archives, and Stock Car Collection are on the 4th Floor.

7. Bring your AppCard, if you want to check out computers, books, DVDs, and other stuff.  We really require the card.

8.  How do I find articles and books?

PA students:  Here's the ASU link to PubMed.  It will link to ASU's subscribed full text. 

Also: CochraneCINAHLASU link to Google Scholar.

There are lots of ways, but try APPsearch, on our main page (library.appstate.edu).  It has the same interface as CINAHL, PsycINFO, SPORTdiscus, and many other subject-specific databases.  Actually, it includes them all, books, ebooks, and other databases too.  APPsearch includes Medline instead of PubMed.

9.  I want to print.  How do you do that?

Go to myprintcenter.appstate.edu, log in with your AppState password, and then upload your document.   Details here and more here for mobile devices.

If you're using library printers, put a few dollars on your AppCard at our kiosks, on 1st Floor of the Library.  Second, your print job will go to all our printers.  You can just walk over to the nearest, swipe your card, identify your job, and enter your password.  Here are details

Welcome to Appalachian!

Thanks for the photo, at top, EmoryMaiden

Contact -- John Wiswell

John Wiswell  
Health Sciences Librarian
wiswellj@appstate.edu       
Levine Hall 542F & Belk Library 225  (828)262-7853
Available for students, faculty, and staff.