It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UCO 1200 The Art of Embodiment: Research Guide
research guidance and help finding appropriate sources on topics related to this course
About this Guide
Welcome to the library research guide for UCO 1200: The Art of Embodiment. It's designed to provide research guidance and help you find appropriate books, articles, and other resources on topics related to this course. All links on this guide open in a new page.
Belk Library Homepage
Research Advisory Program
Research Advisory Program
The Research Advisory Program (RAP) provides one-on-one research assistance for students. Sessions are conducted in person, by phone, or online.
University Writing Center
University Writing Center
Get support at any stage of the writing process from experienced professionals
Video tutorials on how to use APPsearch, library databases, evaluate sources, and more!
A Note about Wikipedia
As you know, Wikipedia is rarely an acceptable source to cite in a college research paper. However, Wikipedia is a wonderful source for background information about research topics, a source for ideas of specific information to search for in library databases, and a source for some of the research already done on certain topics.
Background on Peer Review
If you're new to scholarly or academic sources, they can be challenging to read and understand at first. They're typically written by researchers for other researchers (this includes your professors and upper-level classmates here at App). Give yourself plenty of time and don't be afraid to ask for help if there's something you don't understand. That's the whole reason you're here: to learn! Here are some additional videos:
Search your topics in the following databases, handpicked by your librarian, to find scholarly journal articles. You may also consult the list of Databases by Subject to determine which other databases are related to your research.
This is a great database for you to use as it offers evidence-based overviews of many of your topics. Further down this page offers for more information on using it.
Includes the following:
Clinically relevant, bottom-line-focused information and ratings in our evidence-based natural ingredient monographs
Over 90,000+ new commercial products including product data and evidence-based NMBER® rating system
Interaction Checker: check interactions between all drugs and 90,000+ commercial dietary supplements and natural ingredients; drug-supplement interaction data including evidence-based interaction ratings
Effectiveness Checker: quick comparison of the effectiveness of different natural medicines for a specific condition
Comparative Effectiveness Charts: compare effectiveness of different natural medicines for specific conditions
Enhanced Interaction Checker and Nutrient Depletion Checker interface
Pregnancy and Lactation Checker and Adverse Effects Checker
PubMed is a free search engine accessing references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintain the database. If there is an article you want that isn't full-text, you can request it via interlibrary loan.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, and provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
A Closer Look at Natural Medicines
This research database is a great place to start because it is easy to use and has evidence-based overviews for most of your topics. Keep in mind that its audience is practitioners, so there will be a substantial amount of jargon.
How to use it:
If you're off campus, you may be prompted to enter your AppState username and password before using
Once you get into the database, simply search your topic in the search box
You should be redirected to a list of search results, click the one that is most relevant
You should be redirected to the treatment's overview page. Here is an example:
Items to note:
The main article is the obvious area of attention on the page. You can scroll through and read it. Or use the table of contents to the left to skip to particular sections.
You can download a handout about the subject of the article that is written in patient-friendly language (highlighted in yellow in the upper left).
Clicking the "References" section (highlighted in yellow) in the table of contents redirects you to a list of scholarly articles that form the basis of the main entry. If you're having trouble finding a scholarly article, take note of these as you can search for them by title in APPsearch. There is a good chance the library has access to the full-text.
While AppState library books/ebooks are included in APPSearch search results, save yourself time by clicking the "Books and Media" tab first to just search books. Below are some examples of what the library has to offer. To get started searching for books, visit the library homepage.