Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases and More
Search your topics in relevant databases to find scholarly articles.
- Databases may be accessed via the library homepage Databases - browse by subject link or via the database links below.
- You can consult the database description to learn the scope of the database.
- Are other disciplines doing research in your topic area? Search databases in other disciplines.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Search the Web using Google Scholar to access scholarly articles either published in free, open access journals or in tradtional subscription journals but posted in e-repositories and on university websites.
The article you need is not available electronically?
- You may request it via ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system).
- New to using ILLiad? Register to use ILLiad. Then login and select Request an Article. Complete the form and submit it.
- We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically. At no cost to you.
Tutorials, Handouts and Apps
Bubbl.us is a brainstorming tool that allows users to create colorful mind maps or diagrams to print or share.
Mindmeister is a collaborative mind mapping software that allows users to create concept maps
Popplet is an online tool that allows users to create mind mapping and brainstorming diagrams
Education Source & ERIC Database Tips
- Focus your search by using:
- Limiting and Refine options, including by Publication Date, Peer-Reviewed, etc.
- Field searching - target the Field (author, title, source, etc.) in which your term(s) is searched.
- Explore the Thesaurus (available in both databases). See what terms may be suggested.
- Also, when looking through a list of search results, pay attention to the linked Descriptors and Subject terms listed.
- Email or save citations and full-text information for later review.
- Consider using Zotero citation management tools. Not sure which citation manager to use? MIT Comparison Chart