Skip to main content

Economic History: Overview

A guide for the study of the economic history of the world.

Site Menu

Getting started: encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide background information.

Finding Books: suggestions for finding books at Appalachian State University, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University (WNCLN Catalog).

Finding Articles: suggested databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Primary Sources: suggested library and online collections to primary source material. Includes information on finding primary sources in the library catalog and on the web.

Research Help: includes tutorials on library services, evaluation of resources, avoiding plagiarism, as well as tools for composing a list of works cited and links to writing websites and manuals.

Print Reference Sources

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
ASU Main Stacks: HF1373 .P75 2009

Encyclopedia of Global Economy: a guide for students and researchers
ASU Reference: HF1359 .O28 2006 (2 vols.)
Provides over 150 topical entries, primary sources, and a databank of world statistics.

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
ASU Reference: JV22 .E535 2007 (3 vols.)
Includes information about such economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions, scientific and cultural practices, and wars and conflicts.

Renaissance and Reformation
ASU Reference: CB359 .R455 2007
Six volume set organized by theme, such as "Architecture, Painting, and Sculpture," "Daily Life," "Politics and Economics," or "Wars and Battles."

 

Welcome

The scope of this guide is to help you begin the general research process by providing online and print starting points for your research.

 Research Librarian:

Allan Scherlen
scherlnag@appstate.edu
 

  For more in-depth research assistance, please request a rap session (research  

  consultation) by filling out the RAP Request Form.

Online Economic Reference Sources