Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Domain eBook Collections
Bartleby: Great Books Online
Presents free literature, reference, and verse ebooks.
Documenting the American South
Digital initiative from UNC that provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
The purpose of this site is: to provide access to the “classic” works of civilisation; to promote reading of the same; and for the editor to have fun.
If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
Internet Archive - Texts
The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission: "universal access to all knowledge."
Making of America - Cornell University Library
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America - University of Michigan Library
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
NetGalley delivers secure, digital galleys to professional readers. If you are a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you can use NetGalley for FREE to read and request titles before they are published.
Gitenberg is a collaborative, open source community curating and publishing highly usable and attractive ebooks in the public domain.
Online Books Page
Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library with more than one million free books on the web.
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country.
Project Gutenberg is the first and and one of the largest collections of electronic books.
UC Press E-Books Collection
Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books managed by the Publishing Group at the California Digital Library.
Unglue.it is a place for individuals and institutions to join together to make ebooks free to the world.
University of Pittsburg Digital Editions
The University of Pittsburgh Press and the University Library System (ULS) have formed a partnership to make books published by the Press available online.
Victorian Women Writers Project
Provides access to transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.
Wright American Fiction (1851-1875)
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included.