It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance History, Theory, and Criticism: Video, Images, Music
Dance in Video from Alexander Street Press contains over 900 hundred hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Includes interviews and coaching sessions from around the world. Both Volume I and volume II are included in this database.
"Dance Films Association, Inc., a non-profit members' service organization, attempts to support the dance-on-camera community through its annual Dance on Camera Festival, Dance Film Lab, Choreographers Initiative, publications, grants, and workshops. "
A union catalog of more than 19 million digital resources from over 1,000 organizations developed by the University of Michigan. Digital resources in OAIster include items such as:
* Digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles
* Born-digital texts
* Audio files (e.g., wav, mp3)
* Images (e.g., tiff, gif)
* Movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime)
Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide. More than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Over a million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences with software tools to view, present, and manage images for research.
The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections:
The Art History Survey Collection The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection The Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts The Huntington Archive of Asian Art The Illustrated Bartsch (Old Master European prints from the 15th to the 19th centuries) The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive (images of wall paintings and sculpture from Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang , China ) The MoMA Architecture and Design Collection Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution
ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. ARTstor's definition of art is encompassing. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. ARTstor also provides software tools to enable active use of the images. The tools support a wide range of uses including analyzing images, saving groups of images online, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Coverage: Prehistory to the present
Music & Performing Arts combines music audio and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.
Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. Music & Performing Arts is an online music resource that cross-searches all of Belk library's Alexander Street Press music databases. Included sections are:
American Song Classical Music Library Contemporary World Music Jazz Music Library Popular Music Library Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2010) includes 2,969 albums, equalling 42,622 tracks.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Genres include; African American, American Folk, American Indian, Bluegrass, Blues, Cajun/Zydeco, Caribbean, Chamber, Children's Songs, Contemporary, Contemporary classical, Dance, Drama, Hip-hop, Humor, Indian Classical, Instrumental, Jazz, Latin, Opera/Operetta, Orchestral, Rock, Sacred, Spoken Word and Sounds, Stage and Screen, Traditional, Vocal and Choral, and World.
Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world. The current release (2010) includes 2,047 albums, equaling 27,644 tracks from many labels, including: Topic, Playasound, Budamusique, Air Mail Music, Manuiti, Crossing Records, Lyrichord World Music, Navras Records, and INEDIT. Liner notes to all the albums are included (in PDF format) as well as static URLs to each track and album in the database.
Contemporary World Music contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.