Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance History, Theory, and Criticism: Cite Sources - MLA

OWL (Online Writing Lab) @ Purdue

The OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style.

The MLA Manual

In-text or Parenthetical Citations

In the text of your paper, you acknowledge the sources you used with a brief parenthetical citation that refers to an alphabetical Works Cited list at the end of the paper. The brief citation should include just enough information for a reader to find the full citation in the list, as well as a page number, if appropriate. For example, if you are citing a fact found on page 359 of the book Up from History by Robert J. Norrell, the brief citation might be (Norrell 359); it might be (Norrell Up 359) if your list contains two different books by Norrell.

MLA Style - Electronic Sources

Electronic Source

Example

Online book

(MLA 8th edition)

 

Ambler, Tim, and Morgen Witzel. Doing Business in China: Getting Ready for the Asian Century. Routledge, 2000. ProQuest ebrary. Accessed 24 Aug. 2016.

Magazine article from an Online Database

(MLA 8th edition)

Kluger, Jeffrey. “Light Elements: Dr. Sigmund Doolittle.” Discover, vol. 17, no. 2, Feb. 1996, pp. 84-87. ProQuest Central. Accessed 10 Aug. 2016.

Journal article from an Online Database

(MLA 8th edition)

Thompson, Michael D., and Robert O. Riggs. “Institutional Expenditure Patterns and the Facilitation of Mission.” Community College Review, vol. 27, no. 4, Spring 2000, pp. 1-15. Academic Search Complete. Accessed 12 Feb. 2009.

Newspaper article from an Online Database

(MLA 8th edition)

Hook, Janet. "Election 2016: Candidate Takes New Tack on Immigrants." Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 24 August 2016, p. A4. ProQuest Newstream. Accessed 26 August 2016.

Encyclopedia  article or work in anthology from a subscription service

(MLA 8th edition)

Howard, Lillie. “Zora Neale Hurston.” Dictionary of Literary Biography: Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940, edited by Trudier Harris, Gale, 1987. Literature Resource Center. 26 January 2009.

Website

(MLA 8th edition)

Bio. A&E Television Networks, http://www.biography.com/. Accessed 10 Apr. 2009.

Article on website

(MLA 8th edition)

Musinsky, Gerald. “Animal Spirits.” Encyclopedia Mythica, http://www.pantheon.org/articles/a/animal_spirits.html.
Accessed 18 Mar. 2009.

 

MLA Style - Print Sources

Books

Example

One author

(MLA 8th edition)

Fairbanks, Carol. Prairie Women: Images in American and Canadian Fiction.   Yale UP, 1986. 

Two authors

(MLA 8th edition)

Davidson, William R. and Daniel J. Sweeney. Retailing Management.  6th ed., Wiley, 1988. 

Three or more authors

(MLA 8th edition)

Gilman, Sander, et al. Hysteria Beyond Freud. U of California P, 1993.

Anonymous book

(MLA 8th edition)

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. Macmillan, 1997. 

Anthology or compilation

(MLA 8th edition)

Feldman, Paula R., editor. British Women Poets of the Romantic Era. Johns Hopkins UP, 1997.

Work in an anthology

(MLA 8th edition)

Shutte, Nancy, and Laura Tangley. "Problem Drinkers Can Learn Moderation." Addiction: Opposing Viewpoints. Edited by Jennifer A. Hurley. Greenhaven, 2000, pp. 93-100. 

Articles

Example

Magazine articles

(MLA 8th edition)

(Abbreviate all months except May, June and July.)

(The first article below is from a weekly magazine; the second is from a monthly magazine.)

Mathews, Jay. "How to Build a Better High School." Newsweek, 16 May 2005, pp. 52-57. 

Wright, Karen. "The First Earthlings." Discover, Mar. 2003, pp. 24-25. 

Journal article

(MLA 8th edition)

(There is no distinction made between journals with continuous paging and those with issues paged separately.)

Cnattingius, Sven, et al. "Pregnancy Characteristics and Maternal Risk of Breast Cancer." JAMA, vol. 294, no.19, 2005, pp. 2474-2480. 

Albada, Kelly Fudge. "The Public and Private Dialogue about the American Family on Television." Journal of Communication, vol. 50, no. 4, 2000, pp. 79-110. 

Encyclopedia article

(MLA 8th edition)

(Do not cite the editor of the encyclopedia.)

"Civil Disobedience." The Encyclopedia Americana. 2004 ed. Print.

Mohanty, Jitendra N. "Indian Philosophy." The New Encyclopedia Britannica: Macropaedia. 15th ed., 1998.

Newspaper article

(MLA 8th edition)

Harris, Nicole. “Airports in the Throes of Change.” Wall Street Journal, 27 Mar. 2002, p. B1+. 

“Elections Could Change the Game for Contractors.” Washington Post, 15 Sep. 2008, p. D2. 

 

MLA Style - Non-Print Sources

Nonprint Source

Example

Personal Interview

(MLA 8th edition)

 

Tweet

(MLA 8th edition)

 

Prince, Linda. Personal interview. 24 Dec. 2005.

 

@Belk Library. "Welcome (and welcome back) students! The library is ready to make your fall semester studious and productive!" Twitter, 16 Aug. 2016, 9:47 a.m.,
twitter.com/belklibrary/status/765590859605798912.

YouTube Video

(MLA 8th edition)

McGonigal, Jane. "Gaming and Productivity." YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.