It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance History, Theory, and Criticism: Scholarly Articles & News
The most comprehensive database for dance related materials. Also covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art and more. The majority of articles indexed are from 1998 onwards, for older articles use JSTOR.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international journal, with 160 titles available in full text.
International Index to Performing Arts covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
This resource is especially useful for world dance.
RILM includes all formats of scholarly works--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings. Also provides concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
Music and various other fields as they relate to music including: anthropology, dance, ethnomusicology, historical musicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, literature, dramatic arts and visual arts, music therapy, philosophy and physics, and sociology. Includes citations on international music corresponding to the printed International Repertory of Music Literature.
Covers American and Canadian History and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Useful for American dance history.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law. Coverage: 1955-present
Indexes over 1700 journals, books, and dissertations published worldwide on world history and culture, except for the U.S. and Canada. Useful for international history of dance articles.
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Provides coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). Topics covered include Multicultural Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Religion, Anthropology, Political Science, History of Scientific, Economic, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Scholarly journal articles about sport, fitness, and physical education topics including both practical and research literature. Covers sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness.
Further coverage includes social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.
The comprehensive international content of the database is drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.
Sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport and fitness-related topics.
Education database that also covers dance education.
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.
Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as dance education.
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Covers nursing, allied health, biomedical and consumer health. Search this resource for health related dance topics.
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.
Useful for dance or dance forms present in film, i.e. break dancing, Indian dance, etc.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications (and selected coverage for nearly 300 publications), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
An index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. Created and maintained by the National Dance Education Organization.
It contains extensive descriptions of 4,500+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs.
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education.
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans.
Sources include books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Subjects covered include anthropology, archeology, education, folklore, government, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, psychology, and sociology. Native North Americans include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. Coverage: 1500s-present
Newspaper Source Plus provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers. Limit publication type to reviews.
Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers.
Newspapers include The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Australian, The Toronto Star, The Irish Times and others. Full text coverage is also available for 16 North Carolina newspapers. Also included are television and radio news transcripts from ABC News, CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, and National Public Radio.
Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast). Access is through the Nexis Uni service.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-present.
TLS offers thousands of book reviews - fiction and nonfiction, poetry, and covers every area of the visual and performing arts including film reviews, plays reviews and reviews of exhibitions, opera and theatre.
The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2005 provides full-text access to every page of every issue of the TLS from 1902 to 2005, discovering a wealth of material in 300,000 book reviews, film reviews, play reviews and more.
The only literary weekly to offer coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages, across all areas of the humanities and social sciences. TLS offers thousands of book reviews - fiction and nonfiction, poetry, and covers every area of the visual and performing arts including film reviews, plays reviews and reviews of exhibitions, opera and theatre. It contains topical essays and criticism in the areas of science and medicine; art and architecture; history, music and religion; politics, economics and philosophy; exploration and sport; as well as engineering and town planning.
The Gallica Digital Library gives access to most of the French historical newspapers. - You can search the catalog by selecting the "Presse et revues" button on the front page - You can then choose the advanced search ("recherche avancée") and search by author, title or period