Skip to main content

Civil War History: Overview

A guide to resources for finding secondary and primary documents from the Civil War period.

Citing & Writing Resources

Belk Library Citation Guidelines Page
Links to examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago Citation Styles

The Owl at Purdue
Offers information on the entire writing process from conducting research to citation styles and grammar.

Appalachian State University Writing Center
Free service that works with writers on a variety of projects: papers for academic courses; masters and senior thesis chapters; personal essays for job, graduate school, and law school applications.

Duke Libraries Guide to Research
Provides guidance during the research process and stresses the importance of properly citing resources to avoid plagiarism. 

American History in Video

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military history
ASU REF E468 .H47 2000, 5 vols.

Military Bibliography of the Civil War
ASU Main Stacks Z1242 .D612, 3 vols.
Regimental publications and personal narratives.

The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War
ASU REF G1201 .S5 U6
Reprint of the atlas to accompany the official records
of the Union and Confederate armies. 

American Eras
ASU REFERENCE E169.1.A471979 1997 & ONLINE 
An 8-volume set covering the eras of pre-20th century America.

American National Biography
ASU REFERENCE CT213.A68 & ONLINE 
Successor to the Dictionary of American Biography, this 24 volume set "has substantially broadened the criteria for the inclusion of subjects." A descriptive bibliography is appended to each article and may include primary sources.

Dictionary of American Biography ONLINE
ASU REFERENCE E176.D56
A 21-volume set with supplements provides biographical information on over 15,000 noteworthy Americans.

Dictionary of American History ONLINE
ASU MAIN STACKS P87 1995
Informative reference work on American history.

 

Library Reference Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

More Library Services