Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias by Subjects
Encyclopedias on Education
21st Century Education by
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
This comprehensive and authoritative two-volume work provides undergraduate education majors with insight into the rich array of issues inherent in education—issues informing debates that involve all Americans.
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education by
Publication Date: 2008-06-05
This encyclopedia provides an overview of bilingual education, noting the difference between bilingual education, which is “the use of two languages in the teaching of curriculum content in K–12 schools.”
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by
Publication Date: 2010-02-16
Curriculum studies now embraces an array of academic scholarship in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests while it also focuses upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories.
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning by
Publication Date: 2003-11-06
The Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning defines and applies the best practices of contemporary continuing education designed for adults in corporate settings, Open University settings, graduate coursework, and in similar learning environments.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by
Publication Date: 2012-05-24
With about 700 signed entries with cross-references and recommended readings, the Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (4 volumes, in both print and electronic formats) will present research and statistics, case studies, and best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and postsecondary levels.
Encyclopedia of Education by
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
The primary focus is on U.S. practices and institutions, from preschool to higher education, however, international coverage can be found throughout the set in articles on countries or regions (Canada, South Asia), as well as within topics.
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by
Publication Date: 2006-02-16
Describe the theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories that represent educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent by
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
With nearly 450 entries, these two volumes comprise the first reference work to bring together the strands of reform and reformers and dissent and dissenters in one place as a resource for parents, policymakers, scholars, teachers, and those studying to enter the teaching profession.
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2014-05-19
The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice.
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education by
Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Key features Includes boxed excerpts from 30 key cases in tandem with their Cases in Higher Education Law Concepts, Theories, and Legal Principles of Constitutional Rights, and Issues related to Faculty Rights and Governance and Finance, Organizations and Institutions.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
This encyclopedia is intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in issues involving schools and society. The Social and Cultural Foundations of Education is an interdisciplinary field, including disciplines (to name just a few) such as history and sociology, as well as topical areas such as globalization and technology.
Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia by
In Gender and Education, educators explore the intersection of gender and education. Their entries deal with educational theories, research, curricula, practices, personnel, and policies, but also with variations in the gendering of education across historical and cultural contexts.
Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy by
Publication Date: 2003-12-06
This volume examines early literacy research on a global scale and puts social, cultural, and historical analyses in the front seat--without losing sight of individual and family-level matters in the process.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care by
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia by
The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present. This core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.
The SAGE Guide to Curriculum in Education by
Publication Date: 2015-07-08
The Guide to Curriculum in Education illuminates how four commonplaces of curriculum--subject matter, teachers, learners, and milieu--are interdependent and interconnected in curriculum making and the ties between and controversies over public debate, policy making, university scholarship, and school practice in defining and developing curricula.
The SAGE Handbook for Research in Education by
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Conrad and Serline, both affiliated with the University of Wisconsin- Madison, gather preK-12 and higher education scholars to consider ideas for enhancing educational inquiry. Contributors discuss challenges that researchers must consciously address throughout their inquiries and propose strategies for overcoming these obstacles.
The Sage Handbook of E-Learning Research by
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
The SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research provides a state-of-the-art, in-depth account of research in the rapidly expanding field of e-learning.
SAGE Handbook of Play and Learning in Early Childhood by
Publication Date: 2014-07-16
This Handbook offers diverse perspectives from scholars across the globe who help us see play in new ways. At the same time the basic nature of play gives a context for us to learn new theoretical frameworks and methods
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by
Publication Date: 2012-11-02
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment.
Standards and Accountability in Schools by
Publication Date: 2012-09-06
This issues-based reference set on education in the United States tackles broad, contentious topics that have prompted debate and discussion within the education community. The volumes focus on pre-school through secondary education and explore prominent and perennially important debates.