LibGuides: Family and Consumer Sciences: Articles

Tutorials & Handouts

Concept Mapping
Searching Google Scholar
Evaluating Sources for Credibility
Popular and Scholarly Sources
Also, consult Michigan's chart: Popular, Scholarly and Trade Comparison.

Creating a Concept Map
Example with Research Strategy Worksheet
Find Articles by Topic
Step by step instructions for basic searching.
Research Strategy Worksheet

Requesting Articles

The article you need is not available electronically?

You may request it via ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system).
We will find it, scan it, and make it available to you electronically.

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

Searching for Journal Articles

Access is restricted to ASU students, faculty, and staff. Listing of all databases.

Education Source

Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC

Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
PsycINFO

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
Social Work Abstracts

Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.

Covers all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Subjects include therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, economics and more.

Coverage: 1977-present
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides full text access to more than 540 scholarly journals and citations with abstracts to 800 other magazines and health care publications.

Covers many health related topics with coverage of nursing and allied health particularly strong.

Coverage: 1984-present

Related Databases

Academic Search Complete
JSTOR

Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Covers all aspects of sociology, including community development, culture and social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.

Coverage: 1952-present
Education Law in North Carolina

ELNC is designed to provide North Carolina school officials and administrators with legal information pertinent to the management of their schools and school systems.

Coverage: Current
Teacher Reference Center

Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.

Coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Coverage: 1960s-present

Google Scholar Search - Proxied

Managing Search Results and More

Databases have tools that help you manage your results and more. ERIC, Education Source and others produced by EBSCOhost use the same tools:

For advanced Search options within EBSCOhost see Help.