It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reading Aloud to Children: Evaluating Children's Literature
The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).
Caldecott Medal Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Newbery Medal Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Coretta Scott King Award Awarded to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
Pura Belpre Award Awarded to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Orbis Pictus Awarded for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children.
CLCD provides access to the grade/age-level lists of several reading measurement programs, including:
- Accelerated Reader
- Lexile, MetaMetrics, Inc.
- Reading Counts (Scholastic)
The reviews come from 36 review sources, including Children's Literature; The Horn Book Magazine; Kirkus; Media & Methods; and Parent's Guide.
CLCD contains more contains more than 900,000 catalog records and over 300,000 critical reviews of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.
Contains biographical information about authors and illustrators, lists of awards and honors, and lists of books written or illustrated by the author or illustrator.
Something About the Author Online covers the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources.
Corresponds to the printed Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series: more than 210 volumes; over 19,000 entries; and nearly 17,000 images.
Contains information about authors and illustrators as well as reviews of their books.
LRC is built upon Gale's three author resources: Contemporary Authors, offering biographical coverage of more than 120,000 modern writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since Vol. 95 of the print series and select profiles of authors prior to Vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works.
Provides biographical, bibliographical, and critical content on literary figures from all time periods writing in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.