Skip to main content

Rhinehart Rare Book Collection on British History: Special Collections

Guide to the Rhinehart Rare Book Collection on British History, available in Special Collections.

British History Rare Book Collections

Rhinehart Collection: British history and culture, concentrated on the 16th and 17th centuries, from which time many books in the collection date. Over 550 titles.

 

Hulme Collection: 17th-century British political history; many volumes date from the time which they cover. Collection formerly belonged to Dr. Harold Hulme, late of New York University and a historian of the period. 35 titles.

 

Domesday Collection: English history in the Anglo-Norman period (1066-1200), with some of the collection extending farther into the Middle Ages. 129 titles.

 

Keefe Collection: Records, including many reprints of Pipe Rolls, from the Middle English period (1066-1485). Collection formerly belonged to Dr. Tom Keefe, late of Appalachian State University and an historian of the Anglo-Norman period. 38 titles.

 

 

Searching the Collections

Library Catalog

To search for books in the rare book collections, choose the Location "ASU RARE BOOKS" from the Advanced Search screen, or choose this location after you have already performed a search through the "Modify Search" link at the top of the page.


Subject Guide

Browse the Rhinehart Collection by subjects, time periods, or genres in the Rhinehart Rare Book Collection on British History Library Guide. Titles listed link to catalog records for more information.


Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies for rare book collections can be searched through the search box on Special Collections' home page: http://collections.library.appstate.edu


Help

Need help?  Contact us at spcoll@appstate.edu or Special Collections at 828-262-4041.

How to Use Rare Book Collections

1.  Make an appointment (required).  Email spcoll@appstate.edu or come by Monday-Friday, between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.  Please give 24 hours advance notice to reserve a table and materials you plan to use.

2.  Visit Special Collections Monday-Friday between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. to request the materials at the front desk inside the department.  Special Collections is located on the 4th Floor of Belk Library and Information Commons.

_________________________________________

How to Register

Complete a Researcher Registration form at your first visit, or in advance and bring it with you.

What to Bring

o   Picture ID (ASU identification, driver’s license, passport)

o   Pencil, paper, or laptop.  NO PENS ALLOWED.

What Not to Bring

o   Food, drink, tobacco products, indelible writing instruments.

Duplication             

Copies are available if they do not violate copyright law or donor agreements, and if they can be made without damage to the material.  We can provide photocopies, digital scans, and audiovisual duplication.  Digital cameras are allowed, after agreeing to duplication guidelines.  Fees vary according to service.

Never done archival research? See a brief slideshow about our procedures

Special Collections

For more information about Special Collections, please click on the following links:

Special Collections homepage

About Special Collections

Visit Special Collections:  4th Floor, Belk Library

Contact us!