Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance History, Theory, and Criticism: Getting Started

Site Menu

Getting Started: encyclopedias and dictionaries that provide background information.

Books: suggestions for finding books at Appalachian State University, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University (WNCLN Catalog) and at other institutions (WorldCat), including a list of subject headings and call numbers.

Scholarly Articles & News: suggested databases for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Videos & Images: Library databases, digital collections and websites for locating video and images.

Primary Sources: library digital collections of historical newspapers and papers, interviews, and other historical materials.

Web Resources: links to research guides, organizations, building codes, demographic information, as well as information on evaluating websites.

Annotated Bibliography: outlines what an annotated bibliography is and its various components.

RAP Sessions

RAP (Research Advisory Program)

The Research Advisory Program (RAP) provides students the opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth reference assistance to identify appropriate sources for a research topic.

RAP Session Request Form 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Oxford Music Online
includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Biographical Resources

Librarian Contact

Dusty Ross's picture
Dusty Ross

Librarian

Alex McAllister's picture
Alex McAllister
Contact:
Belk Library
828.262.8472