It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art 4351 Senior Seminar (All Sections): Images
This guide provides basic search strategies, recommended books, research databases, and websites for your projects in this course.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Central Regional Library maintains a collection of over 400,000 photographs taken during geologic studies of the United States and its territories from 1868 to the present.
A digital library of images with associated information and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship.
The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections:
The Art History Survey Collection The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection The Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts The Huntington Archive of Asian Art The Illustrated Bartsch (Old Master European prints from the 15th to the 19th centuries) The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive (images of wall paintings and sculpture from Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang , China ) The MoMA Architecture and Design Collection Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution
ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. ARTstor's definition of art is encompassing. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. ARTstor also provides software tools to enable active use of the images. The tools support a wide range of uses including analyzing images, saving groups of images online, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Coverage: Prehistory to the present
Virtually move around museum’s galleries, selecting works of art that interest you. The ‘Create an Artwork Collection’ feature allows you to save specific views of any of the 1000+ artworks and build your own personalized collection.
A union catalog of more than 19 million digital resources from over 1,000 organizations developed by the University of Michigan. Digital resources in OAIster include items such as:
* Digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles
* Born-digital texts
* Audio files (e.g., wav, mp3)
* Images (e.g., tiff, gif)
* Movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime)
Contains records of digital resources from open-archive collections worldwide. More than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Images from these sources will be suseful for a variety of disciplines
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.