It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry Information: Industry Financials & Ratios
This Guide focuses primarily on industries in the United States but also identifies some international resources.
Industry ratios are mean or median financial ratios for a particular industry. The computed ratios for a company being analyzed should be compared to the industry average to form a basis of comparison. To what extent is the company better or worse than typical? Industry ratios are published by financial information services such as Dun & Bradstreet.
When looking for Industry Ratios it is important to know about and use the SIC/NAICS codes sincem most ratio sources are industry based and organized by industry codes.
Financial Ratios/Comparison Reports
Ratio analysis can be used to assess risk, estimate value, document trends, and to conduct an evaluation of a company against similar companies in the same industry.
Ratio analysis involves using numerical information from company financial statements to determine key relationships. Ratios for specific time periods may be evaluated against ratios from other time periods for both internal and external comparative purposes. Using ratios, you can analyze a company's performance or benchmark it against its competitors, you can compare a company's financial performance to the industry average and reveal relationships between items appearing on balance sheets & income statements. For example, current assets to current liabilities, or net income to net sales.
Click on the First Research link at the top of the page. Click Submit to access. Select an industry by keyword or industry code or Browse Industry Profiles. Select the Financial Information Tabs at the side of the report to see industry ratios and company benchmark trends.
Search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, location, and other criteria to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.
The Key Statistics section of the report contains Industry Data, Annual Change and Key Ratios.
IBISWorld’s industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Troy`s almanac provides updated performance data for 50 operating and financial factors in 192 industries, derived from the latest available IRS figures on US and international companies. The data for each industry are subdivided into 13 categories based on company size. Covers all variety of factors relating to operations, operating costs, financial performance, and an array of critical financial factors in percentages including debt ratio, return on assets, return on equity, and profit margins. Each table is divided into 13 asset sizes to facilitate comparison. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios. Organized according to NAICS Codes.
Latest 2 in Reference; Earlier Editions in Main Stacks.
RMA Annual Statement Studies covers over 700 industries and provides nineteen ratios widely used in the financial services industry with the accompanying balance sheet information. Data is derived directly from 190,000 financial statements of RMA member financial institutions (US) borrowers and prospects. Included are various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. Data arrayed by asset and sales size. Six different asset and sales size categories are presented. Four years of trend data is available in each yearly issue. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios. Organized according to NAICS Codes.
Latest 2 in Reference; Earlier Editions in Main Stacks