Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry Information: Industry Overviews & Statistics

This Guide focuses primarily on industries in the United States but also identifies some international resources.

Industry Overviews

Major Companies in an Industry

One way to find major companies in an industry is to identify one company and identify their main Competitors. (This page is linked from another library guide to Company Information).

With the following databases, you can use the NAICS Code to create a list of competitors in an industry. Some allow you to narrow that list by other criteria, such as geography, sales, private/public ownership, etc.

Industry Statistics

Most of the sources located ni the Industry Overviews box contain industry statistics. Additional sources:

Encyclopedias and E-books

Encyclopedia of American Industries - Detroit, Mich. : Gale, c2008

Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of American Industries.


Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries - Detroit, Mich. : Thomson Gale, 2007

Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.


Encyclopedia of Global Industries - Detroit : Thomson Gale, c2007

Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.


Plunkett's biotech & genetics industry almanac


Plunkett's energy industry almanac


Plunkett's entertainment & media industry almanac


Plunkett's e-commerce & internet business almanac


Plunkett's health care industry almanac


Plunkett's infotech industry almanac


Plunkett's retail industry almanac