Arneson, Arne J. The Music Educators Journal: Cumulative Index 1914-1987. Ref. ML 1 .M234 Suppl.
Bartle, Barton K. Computer Software in Music and Music Education: A Guide. Ref. ML 128 .C62 B36
Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. (R. Colwell, ed.) Ref. MT 1 .H138 1992
Harris, Ernest E. Music Education: A Guide to Information Sources. Ref. ML 19 .H37
Rossman, R. Louis. The Business of Administration and Supervision in Music: A Selected Annotated Bibliography. Ref. MT 3 .U5 R68 1989
The School Music Program: Description and Standards. 2nd ed. (MENC) Ref. MT 3 .U5 M93 1986
TESTING
Boyle, J. D., and R. E. Radocy. Measurement and Evaluation of Musical Experiences. Stacks ML 3838 .B697 1987
Lehman, Paul R. Tests and Measurements in Music. Stacks ML 3838.L43
Wing, Herbert. Tests of Musical Ability and Appreciation, 2nd ed. Ref. ML 3830 .W55 1968
RESEARCH
Phelps, Roger P., et. al. A Guide to Research in Music Education, 4th ed. Stacks MT 1 .P5 1986
Rainbow, E. L., and H. C. Froehlich. Research in Music Education: An Introduction to Systematic Inquiry. Stacks MT 1 .R26 1987
Browsing the Music Library's Collection
Because printed music and books are classified--i.e., grouped with similar items on the shelves--browsing can be an effective method for finding material. Look on the shelves under the following numbers.
73.9-73.99 = Songs for children; school music
ML 3830-ML 3838 = Psychology of music
MT 1-MT 3 = General music education
MT 898-MT 949 = Techniques for working with children
Finding Printed Music and Recordings of Particular Compositions
FINDING INFORMATION about music education.
Books
Do a SUBJECT search in WNCLN's Library Catalog (http://wncln.wncln.org/) using phrase "Music Instruction and study". Other useful phrases for SUBJECT searches:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, along with The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, provide unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. These three publications (online known as Grove Music Online), along with subsequent updates, include more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.
Oxford Music Online provides access to these resources and also provides links to images, written music samples, digital sound, and related Web sites.
Alternate Name: Oxford Music Online
Coverage: Ancient times to the present
Containing 27,000 entries and over 6,000 new entries, the online edition of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes 50% more material than the print Third Edition, and is part of Oxford Music Online.
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Coverage of trends, styles, record labels, venues, music festivals, and key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
RILM includes all formats of scholarly works--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings. Also provides concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
Music and various other fields as they relate to music including: anthropology, dance, ethnomusicology, historical musicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, literature, dramatic arts and visual arts, music therapy, philosophy and physics, and sociology. Includes citations on international music corresponding to the printed International Repertory of Music Literature.
Music Index covers more that 850 music periodicals from more that 40 countries.
"Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry."
Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet.
Selections range from the earliest Gregorian chants to works by modern composers, including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, choral works, and other forms. Content is published under licensing agreements with more than 30 music labels, including major labels and independents, with ongoing license negotiations adding to the range of available tracks.
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 68,000 discs (nearly one million tracks), including notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
Listen online to Classical, Contemporary Jazz, World, Folk, Adult Contemporary, Chinese music, Pop and Rock.
