Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Islam Encyclopedias

A guide to religion resources at the Belk Library and Information Commons.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Encyclopaedia of Islam
ASU REFERENCE  DS37 .E523
The Encyclopaedia of Islam sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Gale Virtual Reference Library
"Islam and the Muslim World looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries."

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
ASU MAIN STACKS  HQ1170 .E53 2003
The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.

Historical Atlas of Islam
ASU REFERENCE  G1786.S1 R9 2004
"The Historical Atlas of Islam is more than an atlas in the usual sense of the term. Besides an abundance of maps and other visuals, it provides an overview of the history of Islam, regionally organized, plus essays on numerous subjects."

The New Encyclopedia of Islam
ASU REFERENCE  BP40 .G42 2001
The New Encyclopedia of Islam encompasses the beliefs, practices, history and culture of the Islamic world, in over 1300 entries.

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
ASU REFERENCE  BP40 .O95 2003
This dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners in a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world.