It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Religion: Finding Articles
A guide to religion resources at the Belk Library and Information Commons.
A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.
Provides full-text of journal articles as well as citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three religion indexes.
Provides citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Full text is provided for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews, from 150 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
Covers religious and theological literature, including anthropology, business, history, law, medicine, philosophy, psychology, and sociology. Coverage: 1908-present
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
Provides citations with abstracts to scholarly research in philosophy from more than 500 journals.
Provides citations with abstracts to scholarly research in philosophy. Over 620 journals are covered, with 80 percent of the records from journals and 20 percent from books.
Philosopher's Index covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Indexes articles and essays from over 1,000 journals and monographic series.
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, history, linguistics, music, psychology, religious studies, social anthropology, and sociology. Alternate Name: Anthropological Literature Coverage: 19th century-present
ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.
ProQuest Sociology covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
The following databases contain primary source materials including books, broadsides and pamphlets, magazines, newspapers, government documents, and much more.
Covers over 1,100 periodicals that first begin publishing between 1740 and 1900. The journals cover three broad periods: 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America's transition from a British colony to an independent nation; more than 900 titles from the first 60 years of the nineteenth century showcase "the golden age of American periodicals;" 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras.
Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War I. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal, and include coverage of literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and general interest magazines. Coverage: 1740-1900
The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, essential collections of U.S. government publications and more from the following collections: Early American Imprints: Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints: Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; American Broadsides and Ephemera; America's Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
The digital Archive of Americana is a comprehensive historical collection of primary source materials that offer opportunities for students and scholars to make original discoveries and new findings on nearly every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Coverage: 1639-1980
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography, Early American Imprints consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.
Information about every aspect of life in 17th and 18th-century America, from agriculture and bankruptcy through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.
Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, and it also features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items.
From Aaron Burr to Zebulon Pike, from abolitionism to Tippecanoe, this unique Web-based collection thoroughly chronicles the people, ideas and events behind the early political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States. Specific topics covered include the Adams-Onis Treaty, Bible societies, canals, the Embargo Act, fur trade, Hartford Convention, Lewis & Clark expedition, Louisiana Purchase, nationalism, Panic of 1819, romanticism, Seminole War, Treaty of Ghent, 12th Amendment, U.S. Military Academy, War of 1812, widows and wives, and thousands of others.
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, with over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.
Includes original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more.