Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias on Religion
Critical Terms for Religious Studies by
Publication Date: 1998-08-15
Provides a concise history of each critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion by
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
This encyclopedia presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of 152 prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries. Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings.
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development by
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
This encyclopedia joins a recent trend in research and scholarship aimed at better understanding the similarities and differences between world religions and spiritualities, between expressions of the divine and between experiences of the transcendent. It does so, however, with a focus on the development of religiosity and spirituality.
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Featuring 450 articles by an international community of 100 distinguished scholars, the Encyclopedia is the definitive account of what we know about the scrolls—their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them. The works are viewed in historical, linguistic, and religious contexts, with archaeological evidence providing a clear basis for dating and preservation of the manuscripts.
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture by
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
This encyclopedia surveys concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse our present comprehension of time. Its inclusive orientation recognizes the contributions of not only scientists and philosophers, but also theologians and creative artists from various fields.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation (OEBI) will fill a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology by
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
The connection between archaeology and the Bible was forged by the discoveries of the nineteenth century, and archaeological finds became the primary catalyst for changes in biblical studies throughout the twentieth century.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Includes hundreds of special articles covering subjects in analytical depth, as well as short biographies of the major figures in the story of Judaism.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
In 2,400 entries, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism.
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
Biblical studies is a highly technical and diverse field. This authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of original research will therefore be invaluable to scholars and students who need to command linguistic, historical, literary, and philosophical skills.
The catalog provides access to the library holdings of Appalachian State University (books, movies, music scores, music CDs, government documents, audiobooks, and more).
The following databases contain primary source materials including books, broadsides and pamphlets, magazines, newspapers, government documents, and much more.