World History: Primary Sources

The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature digital collection presents more than 65,000 titles from the period 1460-1914, and 466 pre-1906 serials. Focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing, and offers comprehensive witness to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century.

It combines two pre-eminent collections—the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration—along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.

Coverage: 1450-1914

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, with over 6 million pages from 29,000 works. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

Includes original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and much more.

Coverage: 1500-1926

The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, essential collections of U.S. government publications and more from the following collections: Early American Imprints: Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints: Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; American Broadsides and Ephemera; America's Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.

The digital Archive of Americana is a comprehensive historical collection of primary source materials that offer opportunities for students and scholars to make original discoveries and new findings on nearly every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries.
Coverage: 1639-1980

Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition. The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

The three major types of documents in this database are monographs of books and pamphlets, manuscripts, and newspapers and periodicals. A sample of the type of collections in Archives Unbound:

East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Global Missions and Theology
JFK Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
Witchcraft in Europe and America
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents arranged by collections and categories. Subjects covered include Africana, American History, American Literature, Asian Studies, British History, Economic History, European History, International Affairs, Irish History, Judaism, Labor and Social Welfare, Latin America, Middle East, Native Americans, Religion, Science/Medicine, Women/Gender, World History, and more.
Coverage: 1500-present

A variety of materials is included—from books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera—with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare.

History, Geography, Fine Arts, Social Sciences, Medicine, Literature, Religion, Science and Technology, Philosophy.

Coverage: 1700-1799

Nineteenth Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

Four collections are currently available: British Politics and Society, European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.

Coverage: 1796-1910

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Included in the collection are 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Coverage: 1473-1700

Provides access to over 3 million pages of 16th- & 17th-century British government documents and over 200,000 searchable pages of Calendars and catalogues.

State Papers Online: The Government of Britain, 1509-1714 gives you access to: Part 1: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic; Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603; and Part III: The Stuarts and Commenwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic.

Coverage: 1509-1714

FBIS Daily reports include English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Translated into English from more than 50 languages — from Arabic to Swahili — these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.

Coverage: 1941-1996