LibGuides: Communication Sciences and Disorders: Overview

Finding Articles -- Databases for CSD

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

Coverage: 1950-present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to nearly 1,200 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. It includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, and educational software. Abstracts are included for over 250 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

ASHA/N-CEP Evidence-Based Systematic Reviews
These reviews are a good place to start, since they find and synthesize original research articles. From ASHA's National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP).

More ASHA and other CSD Resources

ASHA Evidence Maps
ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association)
ASHA is the accrediting body of professional speech-language pathologists, audiologists, and speech, language, and hearing scientists in the United States. Some full-text for non-ASHA members.
SpeechBITE
This database includes published reports that provide empirical data regarding the effectiveness of one or more interventions. University of Sydney.

More Useful Databases for CSD

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Each year approximately 30,000 new records are added.

Subjects include adult, career, and vocational education information; technology assessment and evaluation; language and linguistics; disabilities and gifted education; reading and communication; educational management; teacher and teacher education; elementary and early childhood education; urban education; higher education and more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more. Also including are full text for 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers. Education Source is an upgrade from Education Research Complete.

Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Source also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register.

Cochrane Collection Plus is a source of health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession.

Coverage: Current

CSD Reference sources

The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders (ebook, 2021 2nd edition)
Damico, J., Müller, N., & Ball, M. J. (Eds.). (2021). The handbook of language and speech disorders
Interventions for speech sound disorders in children (ebook, 2nd edition)
Williams, A. L., Brosseau-Lapre, F., McLeod, S., McCauley, R. J., Kamhi, A., McCauley, R. J., Bowen, C., Baker, E., Ballard, K. J., & Bernhardt, B. M. (2021). Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in Children.

Try out the Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders for your topic. It has 2014 (publication year) reviews on a wide range of CSD topics. We have the ebook, plus one in Reference Stacks (1st floor) and one to check out ( RC423 .C24 2014, 3rd floor).

Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders (2014, print and ebook)
1. ebook
2. ASU Reference RC423 .C24 2014
3. Additional copy to check out, ASU Main Stacks RC423 .C24 2014
Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders (e-book)
2021 Editors: Damico, Müller, & Ball
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders (print book)
ASU Reference RC423 .M56 2004 (on 1st floor)
This is a great book, but it's pretty dated now, 2004.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders (almost complete Google Book)
Here's the Google Books version of our print book. You can browse or search. You might get full access to the text you need. If not, we have this in print.

CSD Journals

You can find and access full text of each one using PubMed, CINAHL, Google Scholar or other databases.

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools (ASHA)

CINAHL link but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (ASHA)

CINAHL link but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders (Springer)

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (ASHA)

CINAHL link but I recommend the ASHA Wire link above.

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders (Elsevier)

Dysphagia (Springer)

Journal of Communication Disorders (Elsevier)

ASHA Leader (ASHA -- this one is not peer-reviewed)

International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (Elsevier)

Autism (Sage)

Journal of Fluency Disorders (Elsevier)

Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (Sage)

American Journal of Audiology (ASHA. We only have this on through CINAHL.)

Ear and Hearing (Ovid)

Topics in Language Disorders (Ovid)

Anatomy.tv , also known as Primal Pictures

Anatomy imaging software.

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures: Anatomy and Physiology includes 19 modules on the human body with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.

Explaining the Cochrane databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews -- These are the Cochrane organization's own systematic reviews. Full text.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials -- Change Search Limits to Trials. Cochrane identifies randomized, controlled trials. Not full text.

Cochrane Collaboration

The Cochrane Library This link only works on campus. But access the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and click on the Cochrane Library logo. That will take you to the journal version, which I prefer sometimes.

Searching on outcomes

Often when I start on a topic in the health sciences, I am not familiar with treatments and outcomes. (You might be much more familiar if you're practicing or in a practicum.) I start by searching for reviews and primary articles on the problem. The abstracts should include treatments and outcomes. Once you identify some of the outcomes that make sense for your topic, you can go back and include those in your search. Studies that focus on important outcomes will be more useful to you.

Example: For dysphagia, one outcome might simply be weight gain or maintenance. Others could be some measurement of swallowing ability or even patients' self-assessment.

Here are some categories of outcomes from a book just on Nursing Outcomes.

Functional status
Self-care
Symptom management
Pain as a symptom outcome
Adverse patient outcomes
Psychological distress
Patient satisfaction
Mortality
Healthcare utilization

Library Guides

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Overview

Health Sciences Librarian

Finding Articles -- Databases for CSD

More ASHA and other CSD Resources

More Useful Databases for CSD

CSD Reference sources

CSD Journals

Anatomy.tv , also known as Primal Pictures

Explaining the Cochrane databases

Searching on outcomes

Health Sciences Librarian