Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching University History in the University Archives: Primary Source Citation

This guide provides an overview of sources from the University Archives that will help you research the history of Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

How to Cite Special Collections Materials

A Few Things To Know About Citations

  • Complete citations will help others or yourself re-locate an item in its original location.  
  • You may need to refer to a style guide such as Turabian/Chicago, APA, MLA, etc. for specific information regarding sequence of elements.

 

Digital Photographs

Important citation information is listed in the left-hand column below the picture in ASU Historical Photographs.

 

What to include:  Photographer (if known). Title and Date. Appalachian State University Historical Photographs. Belk Library and Information Commons, Appalachian State University. Date the work was added to Digital Collections. Link to the document.


Note: Campus Aerial Views, Winter, 1961.
Appalachian State University Historical Photographs. Belk Library and Information Commons, Appalachian State University. 2008-01-09. http://omeka.library.appstate.edu/items/show/8117.

 

Bibliography: Appalachian State University Historical Photographs. Belk Library and Information Commons, Appalachian State University.  http://omeka.library.appstate.edu/items/show/8117

 

Digital Yearbooks

Note: Appalachian State University, The Rhododendron (Boone, NC: Appalachian State University, 1923), [insert link to book used].

Bibliography:  Appalachian State University. The Rhododendron. Boone, NC: Appalachian State University, 1923. [insert link to book used].

 

Newspaper Clippings or Vertical Files

Note: “Women in Jazz Celebrated March 21 at Appalachian,” Press Release, March 15, 1994. “Jazz Ensembles” Vertical File, University Archives and Records, Special Collections, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.


Bibliography: “Jazz Ensembles” Vertical File, University Archives and Records, Special Collections, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.

 

 

Unpublished Documents

Letter Example

Note: James T. Broyhill to Mrs. Mary S. Dillon, 13 June 1974, Education and Labor—School Lunch Program, Series 100B (Congressional), Subseries 8 (1973-1974, 93rd Congress), Collection 100, James T. Broyhill Papers, W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection, Special Collections, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.


Bibliography:  Broyhill, James T. to Mrs. Mary S. Dillon. 13 June 1974. Collection 100, James T. Broyhill Papers, W.L. Eury Appalachian Collection, Special Collections, Appalachian State University, Boone, N.C.

Reference Archivist / Librarian

Greta Browning's picture
Greta Browning
Contact:
828.262.7702

Office: Belk Library 433

browningge@appstate.edu
Website