Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching University History in the University Archives: Resources in Open Stacks

This guide provides an overview of sources from the University Archives that will help you research the history of Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

Clippings File

Appalachian Collection Newspaper Clippings Files

Appalachian Collection Newspaper Clippings Files Subject Heading Index

The clippings file is a valuable resource for articles from major newspapers of the southern Appalachian region, with a concentration on western North Carolina newspapers. Mostly 1980s to present.

Sample subject heading: ASU - Buildings

How Can I View Clippings Files?

These files are located in Special Collections, in the Dougherty Reading Room, Room 442.  They are accessible every day that Special Collections is open.  No appointment is required.

Ask for directions to the files at the main desk in Special Collections.

Where are the Open Stacks?

Special Collections is located on the 4th Floor of Belk Library and Information Commons.  See a map.

The open stacks are the books, clippings files, and other materials that you can browse in our reading rooms.

Open Monday-Sunday. Hours

Publications

Publications

Search the Library Catalog to find publications by and about Appalachian State University or its predecessor names.

 

"Location" in the Open Stacks in the catalog record is ASU SPEC APP COLL.  See example below.