Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero - Citation Management - Workshop: Annotated Bibliographies

Use Zotero to capture and use bibliographic citation information.

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

The original version of this page was created by Kyle Denlinger, Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University

 

If you'd like to use Zotero to create an annotated bibliography in APA or Chicago style, you can use a custom citation style designed specifically to output annotations. To install one of the styles that supports annotations:

  • Go to the Zotero Preferences menu (Zotero > Preferences on Mac, Edit > Preferences on PC).
  • Click on the Cite menu. Here, you'll see a list of all of the styles already installed.
  • Below the list of pre-installed styles, click the link for Get additional styles...
  • Search for “annotated” in the provided search field. You should see two styles: one for APA and one for Chicago.
  • Select the style you want to install. 

Important: If using the Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition (note, annotated bibliography), add annotations to the source's Extra field in Zotero. If using American Psychological Association 6th edition (annotated bibliography with abstract), insert annotations into the Abstract field.


When it's time to create your bibliography, it's easiest to collect all of your bibliography's sources into a new collection (see Adding Items to your Library), then right-click on the collection title and select Create Bibliography from Collection
 

right click menu in the collections pane

 

Then, select your annotated bibliography citation style from the list and ensure that Copy to Clipboard is selected. Click OK.
 

create bibliography from collection

Now you can paste in your annotated bibliography anywhere you can paste in text--a Word document, Google Doc, email, etc.