Belk Library and Information Commons
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608-2026
Curator of the Stock Car Racing Collection
The Richard Petty Collection
Lynda Petty, wife of stock car racing legend Richard Petty, donated a large collection of materials documenting her husband's career to the Stock Car Racing Collection at Appalachian State University in 2005. The gift, which covers the years 1958-2003, includes newspaper and magazine articles, fan letters, scrapbooks, promotional materials, awards of recognition, business correspondence, photographs, books, race programs, and more. Ms. Petty said, "These memories of Richard's career are important to the family, and we are glad we can entrust them to to the Stock Car Racing Collection at Appalachian State University for preservation."
The Richard Petty Collection came to Appalachian State with the help of motorsports journalist and public relations expert Deb Williams, who is a member of the Stock Car Racing Collection Advisory Committee. Williams, a close friend of the Petty family, put Lynda Petty and Collection curator Suzanne Wise in contact with each other. Wise noted, "The Petty collection is a wonderful resource for stock car racing scholars. It traces the career of the most popular and successful driver ever in the sport, and offers a peek into his life away from the track. Richard has been very active in charitable activities, and even ventured into the political arena. We are delighted to organized and preserve these materials for future generations."
How to View Items in this Collection
Materials in the Richard Petty Collection are housed in the Closed Collection of Special Collections. If you wish to view item in the Petty Collection, it is best to make an appointment by emailing or calling ahead (firstname.lastname@example.org, 828-262-7974). For hours and other information about using items in the Closed Collection, go to the Special Collections Research Services Page.
The King's Car
Books and AV About the King
3: The Petty Story. Videocassette, 1989. StockCar Video 84
Bongard, Tim. The Cars of the King: Richard Petty. 1997. StockCar GV1032 P47 B66 1997
The Book of Richard Petty: A Collection of Stories and Photographs Concerning the Acknowledged King of Stock Car Racing. Compiled from articles appearing in Stock Car Racing Magazine. 1976. StockCar GV1032 P47 B66 1976
ESPN Ultimate NASCAR. The Families. DVD, 2008. StockCar DVD 280
Vehorn, Frank. A Farewell to the King: A Personal Look Back at the Career of Richard Petty, Stock Car Racing's Winningest and Most Popular Driver. 1992. GV1032 P47 V44 1992