Research Guides: UCO 1200 The Sweet Science: Boxing and American Culture: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

What is Plagiarism?

The Appalachian State University Academic Integrity Code defines plagiarism as "presenting the words or ideas of another as one's own work or ideas."

Select List of Article Databases with Boxing Content

You may also explore the complete list of library databases here

America: History and Life with Full Text
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Comprehensive international coverage of sport and fitness-related topics, drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Project Muse
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals on all aspects of film and television theory, production, and reviews.
Indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals on all aspects of film and television theory, production, and reviews.
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
Artstor
More than two million art images for non-profit educational use from numerous art, architecture, and anthropology collections. See More Info for a collection list.
More than two million art images for non-profit educational use from numerous art, architecture, and anthropology collections. See More Info for a collection list.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides full text coverage for 730 national and international newspapers, 16 North Carolina newspapers, and TV and radio news transcripts (2000-present).
Provides full text coverage for 730 national and international newspapers, 16 North Carolina newspapers, and TV and radio news transcripts.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers (1764-2005).
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.

UCO 1200 The Sweet Science: Boxing and American Culture: Finding Articles

Subject Guide

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What is Plagiarism?

Select List of Article Databases with Boxing Content

Google Scholar

Subject Guide