Research Guides: Geological and Environmental Science: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources Tutorial.

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in the geology and earth sciences.
Contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in the geology and earth sciences.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Covers research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef database.
Covers research and communications in the earth sciences, which is built on a core database of peer-reviewed journals and is integrated with the GeoRef database.
Geolex This link opens in a new window
A search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names. Provides the lexicon of geologic names of the United States.
A search tool for lithologic and geochronologic unit names. Provides the lexicon of geologic names of the United States.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Replaces Web of Science. An abstract and citation database focused on social, physical, life, and health sciences, with over 94 million records.
Replaces Web of Science. An abstract and citation database focused on social, physical, life, and health sciences, with over 94 million records.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.

Be sure to check out the Southeastern Geology Digital Archive, available on the Geological and Environmental Science page, earth.appstate.edu.