Research Guides: Religion: Finding Articles

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Sources Tutorial.

Citation Resources

A citation is a record of where you encountered a certain idea. Citing your sources helps other scholars track down resources they find of interest. Proper citation helps us all build on our knowledge.

KnightCite Citation Service

Owl: Purdue Online Writing Lab

Recommended Databases for Religion

ATLA Religion
Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).

Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Philosophers Index
Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics.

Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics.

Other Useful Databases for Religion

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Anthropology Plus
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Project Muse
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.

Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to over 1,000 scholarly journal titles, with around 700 available in full text, across a wide range of social science disciplines.

Provides access to over 1,000 scholarly journal titles, with around 700 available in full text, across a wide range of social science disciplines.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to the full text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.

Provides access to the full text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.

Google Scholar

Primary Sources

The following databases contain primary source materials including books, broadsides and pamphlets, magazines, newspapers, government documents, and much more.

American Periodicals Series Online
Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
America's Historical Newspapers
Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Archive of Americana
Features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

Now part of Readex AllSearch.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800
Consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides depicting every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides depicting every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
Full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early years of the 19th century.

Full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early years of the 19th century.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers (1764-2005).

Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.
Sabin Americana
Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.

Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.

Religion: Finding Articles

Social Sciences Librarian