LibGuides: ART 3630 African Art (All Sections): Articles

Research Tips

As you search the library resources for information on your topic keep the following in mind:

Peer reviewed or scholarly articles can be excellent sources of information for your research.

When you have located an on-topic article or book chapter review the bibliography for additional resources.
You can then follow up on this list of resources to find additional relevant information on your research topic.

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

What are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles?

Written by scholars or experts on the topic
Content has been critically evaluated by other experts
Contain citations (footnotes and/or bibliography) documenting sources

For more information, see the Popular and Scholarly Resources video.

Art Databases (ASU Only)

Consult the complete list of Library Databases for additional resources.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, book reviews, and images from journals in the areas of art history, graphic arts, sculpture, interior design, photography, textiles, crafts, and architecture from 1929 to the present. Includes full text of selected journals since 1997.
Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes nearly 120 titles in full text.

Subjects covered include archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, film, video, painting, photography, sculpture, textiles.
Coverage: 1984-present
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Design and Applied Arts Index covers all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Specific subjects covered include advertising, packaging and product design, architecture, crafts, ceramics, glass and jewelry, industrial design, graphic design, fashion and textiles, sustainable design, furniture and interior design, and fiber arts.
Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items.

Design and Applied Arts Index covers all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Specific subjects covered include advertising, packaging and product design, architecture, crafts, ceramics, glass and jewelry, industrial design, graphic design, fashion and textiles, sustainable design, furniture and interior design, and fiber arts.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books, as well as an Image Collection of over 63,000 images.
Art and Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books.

In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Coverage: 1937-present
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary index of journal literature that traces citations found in indexed articles, 1980-Present.
Provides indexing for 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage of academic journals in the following areas: Archaelogy, Architecture, Art, Asian Studies, Classics, Dance, Folklore, History, Language, Linguistics, Literary Reviews, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Poetry, Radio, Television, & Film, Religion, Theater.
Coverage: 1975-present
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, surveying over seven hundred American and international journals.
Major areas of coverage include: Archaeology, Architecture, Architectural design, City planing, Furniture and decoration, Historic preservation, History of architecture, Interior design, Landscape architecture, and Urban planning.
Coverage: 1934-present
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work covering all forms of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to contemporary art.
Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years. Includes more than 20,000 artists biographies and thousands of images of painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, photography and the decorative arts. Also includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.

Alternate Name: Grove Dictionary of Art
Coverage: Prehistory-present

Multidisciplinary Library Databases

Use the following list of library databases to begin searching for information on art focused topics.
Consult the complete list of Library Databases for additional resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, history, linguistics, music, psychology, religious studies, social anthropology, and sociology.
Alternate Name:
Anthropological Literature
Coverage: 19th century-present
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index provides indexing for more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Coverage of academic journals in the following areas: Anthropology, History, Industrial Relations, Library Science, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Psychology, Psychiatry, Political Science, Public Health, Social Issues, Social Work, Sociology, Substance Abuse, Urban Studies, Women's Studies.

Coverage: 1900-present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is in the following areas: Classics; Cultural Studies; Economics; Education; Film, Theater and Performing Arts; History; Judaic Studies; Language; Law; Literature; Math; Music; Philosophy and Religion; Philosophy and Science; and Politics.
Coverage: 1996-present

Library Guides

ART 3630 African Art (All Sections): Articles

Librarian Contact

Research Tips

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Journals

Art Databases (ASU Only)

Multidisciplinary Library Databases

Librarian Contact