Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War History

What are Primary Sources?

A primary information source is a record of events that are described or recorded by someone who either participated in or witnessed the events firsthand. Examples include newspaper accounts, letters, diaries, notebooks, and interviews

Primary Sources in Library Databases

Primary Sources on the Internet

American Memory 
http://memory.loc.gov/
From the Library of Congress. More than 5 million items from more than 90 historical collections.
Including a collection of Civil War Maps and Slavery: A Resource Guide, and Slaves and the Courts 1740-1860court documents about the prosecution and defense of slavery.

Documenting the American South 
http://docsouth.unc.edu/
Collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes First Person Narratives of the American South and North American Slave Narratives.

American Civil War Collections at the Electronic Text Center
http://etext.virginia.edu/civilwar/
From the University of Virginia Library. Primary source material including letters, diaries, and newspapers.  

The Civil War: Women and the Homefront
http://guides.library.duke.edu/civilwarwomen
Special Collections Library at Duke University which document women's experiences in the Civil War. Links to photographs and prints in the National Archives and Library of Congress.

Pictures of the Civil War 

The Valley of the Shadow
http://valley.vcdh.virginia.edu
Residents of Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, chronicle their experiences in the American Civil War. 

RAP Sessions

RAP (Research Advisory Program

The Research Advisory Program (RAP). Provides students the opportunity to meet with a librarian for in-depth assistance.

RAP Session Request Form 

Citing & Writing Resources

Belk Library Citation Guidelines Page
Links to examples of MLA, APA, and Chicago Citation Styles

The Owl at Purdue
Offers information on the entire writing process from conducting research to citation styles and grammar.

Appalachian State University Writing Center
Free service that works with writers on a variety of projects: papers for academic courses; masters and senior thesis chapters; personal essays for job, graduate school, and law school applications.

Duke Libraries Guide to Research
Provides guidance during the research process and stresses the importance of properly citing resources to avoid plagiarism. 

Citing Primary Sources

Belk Library's Citation Guidelines
Guides to citing research in MLA, APA, and Chicago formats.

Library of Congress Guide to Citing Primary Sources:

If there are other style guides you need to consult, conduct a title or subject search in the ASU library catalog to find if we have access to additional citation style guides.