BASIC REFERENCE TOOLS

• American Psychological Association.  Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.  5th ed.  (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001).  Music Reference BF76.7 .P83 2001.
• CAIRSS for Music Database [Computer Assisted Information Retrieval Service System for Music] This database, with special focus on music education, music therapy, the psychology and physiology of music, and music and medicine, is available on the internet.  From the Music Library home page, click on "Electronic Resources," and choose CAIRSS (or click here).
  
• Dorland, W. A. Newman.  Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary, 30th ed.   (Philadelphia, PA: Saunders, 2003).  Music Reference R121 .D73 2003 and CD-ROM.
• DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) Music Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2013
• Stedman, Thomas Lathrop.  Stedman's medical dictionary, 27th ed.  (Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2000).  Music Reference R121 .S8 2000b.

JOURNALS

• Journal of Music Therapy (journal of the former National Association for Music Therapy, now the American Music Therapy Association.)
• Music Therapy (New York) (journal of the former American Association for Music Therapy.)
• Music Therapy Perspectives

Web Sites

•  American Music Therapy Association (http://www.musictherapy.org/)

Because printed music and books are classified--i.e., grouped with similar items on the shelves--browsing can be an effective method for finding material. Look on the shelves under the following numbers.

In the ASU Music Library

Books:

• ML 3919-ML 3920 = Music therapy
• ML 3830-ML 3838 = Psychology of music

Music:

• 71 = General folk song collections
• 71.2 = Popular song collections
• 71.3-73.89 = Folk songs from specific areas and occupations
• 73.9-73.99 = Songs for children; school music
• 74.5 = Catches, rounds
• 85 = Hymnals

To find a specific song requested by a client, use one of the following indexes to song collections:

• DeCharms and Breed. Songs in Collections: An Index. Ref ML 128 .S3 D37
• Havlice, Patricia. Popular Song Index. [use all 4 volumes] Ref ML 128 .S3 H4
• Sears, Minnie. Song Index. [use main section & suppl.] Ref ML 128 .S3 S31 1966

In Belk Library

Music and books on music for children (located in the Instructional Materials Center (IMC, bottom floor):

• 780-789 = music in the Dewey Decimal classification system

Books

• Books in the field of psychology are classed in BF, on medicine in R. The most effective method for finding these is to perform SUBJECT searches in the WNCLN's Library Catalog (http://wncln.wncln.org/)

Books

Do a SUBJECT search in the WNCLN's Library Catalog (http://wncln.wncln.org/) on phrase "Music therapy."

Other useful phrases for SUBJECT searches can be found by looking in Library of Congress Subject Headings, a thesaurus of controlled vocabulary terms. You can find this book on the Music Library Reference shelves (Ref. ML 111 .H36 1998)

Articles

On the ASU Library and Information Commons home page (http://www.library.appstate.edu/), select "Databases & Articles." (or click on the titles listed below) Depending upon your topic, the following databases may be useful:

• PyschINFO International
• Music Index Online
• ERIC (for special education)
• CINAHL (for nursing and allied health fields)
• Medical Abstracts
• RILM Music Abstracts

Note that several of these services provide a thesaurus, a list of controlled-vocabulary terms and phrases that are precise descriptions of particular narrow subjects. Use these thesauri as you are deciding what terms to search, or search by KEYWORD to find one article, and then search with the controlled subject terms that appear in the record you have identified.

Electronic Journals