It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to begin?
Know your assignment & what kind of resources you need (books, articles, web sites, etc.)
about your topic (write down as many key words as possible searching for information). Brainstorm first.
Try broader, narrower, variant spellings, or related terms:
bird* / aves / avian
fish* / salmo / trout
conodont* / dentation / teeth
Books on Biology
We have many books on Biology. Especially see the QH through QR areas on the 3rd Floor. Also, the Rs are Health Sciences and S is the Agriculture books.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts derived from over 5,000 serials published in over 100 countries; monographs (including reports); books; newsletters; conference papers and abstracts.
Zoological Record covers all aspects of modern animal research, including: Behavior; Biodiversity; Conservation; Ecology; Evolution; Genetics; Habitat; Morphology; Nomenclature; Parasitology; Physiology; Reproduction; Taxonomy; and Zoogeography.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts derived from over 5,000 life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Find information in virtually every life sciences discipline, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science.
You can also access a slightly different version of the same database (almost the same) through Web of Science. Look for Medline.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, and provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
SciFinder Scholar provides citations with abstracts from more than 10,000 journals as well as patents, conference proceedings, government research reports, books and dissertations. In addition, researchers have access to the CAS Registry of organic and inorganic substances, CASREACT for chemical synthesis information, and regulated chemical information in CHEMLIST.
Covers all areas of chemistry, including organic, inorganic, biochemistry, applied chemistry, and chemical engineering.
There are nearly 222 herbaria in the Southeast United States, and each one has its own particular scope and focus. Together, these herbaria house an almost complete representation of regional plant information.