Searches over 13,000 journals covering a wide array of academic disciplines including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences and women's studies.
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Covers accounting, banking, finance and economics, management, marketing, MIS, POM, and other business topics. Coverage: 1886-present
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles (over 2,500 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Covers psychology and related disciplines,with 97 percent of the material peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Coverage: 1887-present
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information from more than 5,200 journals in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. It provides access to over 14 million citations and abstracts. The fields include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection. Coverage of academic journals in the following areas: Biochemistry; Biological Sciences; Earth Sciences; Economics; Energy; Engineering & Technology; Environmental Science; Materials Science; Microbiology & Immunology; Neurosciences; Nursing and Health Professions; Physics and Astronomy; Sustainability and much more.
Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:
Science Citation Index, 1899-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1898-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
Web of Science also offers a true cited reference index, which allow you to trace particular research forward in time or backward in time to see how works grow and develop in a focused area of research.
Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB). Includes records representing 400 languages.
Primarily books, but also includes manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorlCat does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Coverage: 1000 BC-present
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Fiction, 1774–1920 contains more than 17,800 titles and is comprised of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I.
It gathers extensive content in one place and allows researchers to explore the development of American literature in a changing culture through novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, and sketches. These texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change, enabling students and researchers to answer key questions about history, society, identity, psychology, race, gender, and culture.
ASSIA is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective.
This is a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.
This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. Disciplines such as social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ+ communities around the world are included, as well as rare and unique books on sex and sexuality from the sciences to the humanities to support research and education.
Digital Theatre+ gives access to over 600 award-winning productions and a wealth of related study materials.
Digital Theatre+ can be used for theatre and performance courses and also across English, dance, music, and history departments to support the study of the wider humanities. Works include productions from BroadwayHD, DV8, Gecko, Reckless Sleepers, Complicité, Frantic Assembly, the Stratford Festival, the Royal Shakespeare Company and many more. Study materials include essays and documentaries, e-learning videos, workshops, poetry recitations, and other resources on key theatre and English topics, literature, styles, genres, and practitioners.
Provides access to content from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science database facilitates in-depth research and comprehensive literature reviews across the earth, atmospheric, and aquatic sciences. Subject areas include: Aquaculture, Atmospheric pollution, Climatology, Geology, Marine biology, Meteorology, Oceanography, Water quality, and more.
The Health Poll database is a comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling.
Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
The IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
LISA is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 300 periodicals from around 40 countries and 20 languages, providing comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the scholarly literature related to library science. Subject coverage includes all aspects of librarianship, library users, information retrieval and more.
NCJRS covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Newspapers.com provides online access to over 20,000 historical newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and 6 other countries. The World Collection is a helpful resource for genealogy and historical content. Newspapers.com offers full-page images with searchable full text for millions of pages of newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, with full runs and portions of runs of regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Policy File Index is a web-based resource for information on public policy issues with indexing and linking to the output of over 350 think tanks and similar organizations.
Policy File Index is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Taylor & Francis eBooks provides full text access to approximately 36,000 ebooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities, and social science. Unlimited user access and downloadable chapters (pdf) for off-line viewing.
A language-learning system with over 110 languages to choose from.
Note: First-time users will need to log in with their App State username and password, then click Sign Up to create their own Transparent Languages account. Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.
After creating an account, users can access Transparent Language in their web browser or they can download the Transparent Language mobile app for iOS or Android. Apps are being updated with a new hands-free learning feature that allows for audio lessons to be used offline and hands-free while traveling, exercising, etc.
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertisers and advertising agencies.
Winmo, formerly Advertising Red Books, monitors 9,000 worldwide agency parent companies, over 4,400 U.S. publicly traded companies, the top 2,000 global companies and the largest U.S. private companies. Includes access to 10,000+ U.S. and international agency profiles and 15,000+ global advertiser profiles, as well as 255,000 personnel, with detailed contact information. Also includes information on more than 100,000 brand names.
This archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.
Pulling from a wide range of primary sources, including manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, they provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.