Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University Writing Center
Need assistance with your writing? Visit the University Writing Center.
Room 008, Lower Level Belk Library & Information Commons.
Drop in or make an appointment
Related Library Guides
The following list of Library Guides for Research will provide additional information for resources for art related fields. A complete list of library guides can be found at Library Guides for Research.
The scope of this guide is to help you begin the general research process by providing online sources, print sources, and search strategies as starting points for your research.
Oxford Art Online (excellent starting point for background information)
Oxford Art Online - includes the following resources:
- Grove Art Online
The foremost scholarly art
encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual
art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (1996, 34 volumes),containing more than 45,000 articles contributed by
6,700 scholars from 120 countries.
- Oxford Companion to Western Art
Contains more than
2,600 entries, and provides discriminating and reliable coverage of
over 1,700 artists and their work.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Featuring more than 600 articles by more than 500
globally recognized art historians, philosophers, and theorists,
this encyclopedia provides coverage of historical accounts and
critical discussions on the subject.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual
More Online/Print Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks