It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information about the peer review process for African Arts journal
As you search the library resources for information on your topic keep the following in mind:
Peer reviewed or scholarly articles can be excellent sources of information for your research.
When you locate an on-topic source (i.e. article, book chapter, web source) review the bibliographies for additional resources. You can then follow up on this list of resources to find additional relevant information on your research topic.
A regular review of bibliographies will also assist you in becoming more familiar with the areas of scholarship you are researching.
Covers U.S. and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Topics include Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Anthropology, Sociology, Art and more.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including Popular Culture, American Studies, Literature/Folklore, Genealogy, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Multicultural Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Anthropology, Sociology, History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law. Coverage: 1955-present
Coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Topics include multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, religion, anthropology, art, law and more.
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Provides coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in America: History and Life). Topics covered include Multicultural Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies/Gender Studies, Religion, Anthropology, Political Science, History of Scientific, Economic, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans.
Include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica.
Sources include books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Subjects covered include anthropology, archeology, education, folklore, government, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, psychology, and sociology. Native North Americans include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. Coverage: 1500s-present
Coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, art history, folklore, and more.
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
As a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is the world’s most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, geography, history, linguistics, music, psychology, religious studies, social anthropology, and sociology. Alternate Name: Anthropological Literature Coverage: 19th century-present
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, and more.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international journal, with 160 titles available in full text.
International Index to Performing Arts covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage in the following areas: African American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; Statistics. Coverage: Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
Covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Provides over one million citations for items from more than 4,400 journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, bibliographies, and websites.
Covers all aspects of sociology, culture and social structure, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, and more.
Sociological Abstracts provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Covers all aspects of sociology, including community development, culture and social structure, demography, human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine, law, religion, science, social psychology, group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.
Borrow, Renew, Request
There are three way to get materials not owned by Appalachian State University. The links below provide information on each service.
Use this service to request items available at WCU or UNCA. ABC Express can have books or journals delivered within three days. ABC materials are delivered on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and may be picked-up at the Library Service Desk.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not held at ASU,UNCA, or WCU. First Time users must create an account.
Make requests online through ILLiad.
It wakes anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks to receive materials through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Please consider this before ordering. To avoid delays, provide complete citation information for the materials requested.