It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 4040: Cross Cultural Study of Masks: Getting Started
Need assistance with your writing? Visit the University Writing Center.
Room 204, 2nd Floor Belk Library & Information Commons.
Drop in or make an appointment
This guide is designed to provide an overview of resources useful for conducting research to complete your specific assisgnments for Cross Cultural Study of Masks. If you are not able to find what you need or you would like to make an appointment for research assistance I would be happy to meet with you - my contact information is listed on the right side of this page.
Good luck with your research.
What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography provides an account of the research that has been done on a given topic. For this assignment you will identify relevant resources on a selected masking genre.
Like a bibliography, an annotated bibliography includes an alphabetical list of information resources. However, in addition to the citation information (i.e. author, title, etc.), the annotated bibliography also includes a concise commentary on the scope, approach, and merit of each source and a brief assessment of its value and relevance.
What does the annotation include?
An annotation may include the following:
Complete citation information in an appropriate style format (i.e. APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.)
Details on what kind of information can be found in the source
Information on the qualifications and authority of the writer/author
Usefulness of the source based on the coverage of the topic
Additional notable aspects of the source (i.e. special features)
Dr. Bentor will provide specific information on the length of the annotation
Selecting the sources:
The quality and usefulness of your annotated bibliography will depend on selection of resources you include. Define the scope of your research carefully so that you make good judgments about what to include and what to exclude in the annotated bibliography.