It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides curated collections of art images including architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. It offers over 5,000 searchable and embedded art images, maps, and line drawings and it provides over 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries around the world. Images may be used for educational and research purposes if they are properly credited
The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections:
The Art History Survey Collection The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collection The Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts The Huntington Archive of Asian Art The Illustrated Bartsch (Old Master European prints from the 15th to the 19th centuries) The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive (images of wall paintings and sculpture from Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang , China ) The MoMA Architecture and Design Collection Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution
ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. ARTstor's definition of art is encompassing. It includes architecture, painting, photography, prints, drawings, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. ARTstor also provides software tools to enable active use of the images. The tools support a wide range of uses including analyzing images, saving groups of images online, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. Coverage: Prehistory to the present
In addition to providing access to over 45,000 articles covering all aspects of the visual arts, limiting to "Images" on the home page allows you to do keyword searching in a collection of almost 6,000 images. Images may be used for educational and research purposes if they are properly credited.
Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years. Includes more than 20,000 artists biographies and thousands of images of painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, photography and the decorative arts. Also includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Covers every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Alternate Name: Grove Dictionary of Art